Made: Butterick 6031 Slips

butterick-6031-6

There comes a time in every woman’s life (I might be prone to exaggerate just a tad) that she has to face the need for new underpinnings. I don’t know about you, but for me this is such a needle in a haystack. I can look forever and ever for just the right bra or just the right underwear or as the case may be, just the right slip. And correct me if I’m wrong, but especially in the slip department, there are some serious, serious deficits. Even if you can find something, it’s usually an arm and a leg, or it’s just….grose.

Well, I couldn’t even find anything. Nothing. Not a thing. I’ve looked. I’ve scoured. I’ve even tried to find vintage slips at the thrift and right now, there seems to be a serious slip MIA because I finally decided to stop wasting my time and energy and just make something! Personally, I have nothing against making underpinnings of any kind, I just usually always opt to make something else first. But when the need arises, I’ll rise to the occasion.

butterick-6031-2

I had purchased Gertie’s Butterick 6031 awhile back. I was out with my mom and we were getting a few patterns from the local JoAnn. I couldn’t resist this particular pattern because the slips just look so pretty on the model and with some things I make, I do like to wear a slip. I waited several weeks before I even picked up the pattern again and decided that it needed to be made. I just finished up a wool knit wrap dress and was in desperate need of a nice slip to wear underneath.

butterick-6031

I pulled out my fabric and found a few micro jerseys to choose from (where I find all this fabric, I have no idea, sometimes it feels like it just magically appears). This is the fabric that Gertie recommends as per her sewalong and I had picked up the nude from Emma One Sock and the grey/blue and lavender from a local fabric shop (Designer’s Resource, if you live here in SLC). There are a few other fabrics that I think would work wonderfully in this pattern, namely swimsuit fabric and/or lining. I’ve seen some of those at the local JoAnn and do think they would do a marvelous job, but if you’re looking for these micro jerseys be on the lookout from something that falls away from the skin, feels cool to the touch and is usually a polyester and spandex blend. Usually something like 92% polyester and 8% spandex. They stretch in both directions but recover immediately.

butterick-6031-5

butterick-6031-4

Anyway, once the fabric was set, all that was left was finding all the notions that one needs for this project. I can see why Gertie did kits for this because there are several things that you need. I happened to have leftover stretch lace from my shop – a blessing since this calls for quite a bit. I actually forgot that I had picot edge elastic and instead used some swimsuit elastic for my first slip and just folded over the elastic and did that fancy straight stitch zig-zag. I had to send off for the strap elastic and rings and sliders (bramakerssupply.com) but I was pleasantly surprised with the quick shipping. For my first rendition I used the strap elastic for the whole of the strap as I didn’t have any of the right width of stretch lace and then for my second and third rendition, I got on a comfort soapbox and tried something else. For those, I opted to make a strap from swimsuit elastic that was encased in the matching micro jersey. First I attached to one edge with a zig-zag and then then folded over twice and did the fancy straight stitch zig-zag. Uber, uber comfy and doesn’t cut into my shoulder (I am so picky about comfort, it’s almost ridiculous!). Stole the idea from a bra I love.

butterick-6031-3

And then I just made silly little bows from the outrageous amount of ribbon I have and voila! Done! I made the third – the nude version – in about 3 hours time, cut to finish. Addicting for sure and a project that I highly recommend. While I don’t look like the model in the finished slips (yup, I have a tummy!!!) I still feel pretty, they do the job and they are so comfortable. All wins in my book!

If you’re interested, here’s my full review. And now, off to make another wrap dress before I put it all together.

17 thoughts on “Made: Butterick 6031 Slips

  1. This is so nice. I need to find the time to make one. The challenge is the supplies as for some reason the shops don’t seem to stock these stuff anymore. Please post the wrap dress when you make it. I have the fabric already 🙂

    1. I know – the supplies are not easy to get your hands on. Even online I found that they are fairly expensive and most times you can’t even get it all in the same place anyway. If you hop over to Kollabora and read my review, it might give you some ideas for how to save. I used swimsuit elastic (which can be found at Joann and Hancock) in a couple of places.
      I’m definitely planning on posting my wrap dress(es!)! They are marvelous to wear!

  2. Wow! I love how beautiful your slips turned out. Curiously enough, I need to make a slip for a dress that I did not make. Thank you for inspiring me to get going with my project!

    1. They are so easy and so satisfying – definitely worth the extra effort, time and energy. You’ll probably end up making more than just one. Seems to be a catching thing!

  3. as an absolute “detester of polyester” I have made two of these slips in silk jersey (94% silk, 6%lycra) and have a 3rd planned. I also made a version in 100% silk jersey that doesn’t have the recovery needed but I wear it as PJ’s and it’s comfortable for that.

    I’ve also made a gazillion pairs of underwear from the underwear pattern and a modified thong pattern I made from it.

    Best and most used pattern I own!

    1. I agree – I do not love polyester, but these were surprising finds. I would love to make one from silk jersey though! But it’s so hard to find the stuff. Where did you find yours? Do share!
      I will say that I do love these micro jerseys. They are incredibly comfortable and seem to hold up quite well to lots of wear and tear even though they are semi sheer. Doesn’t snag easily either.

  4. Living in super-hot south Texas, I’ve never really worn a slip. But now that I’m over 50, I’m kind of…well, lumpy. There. I said it. Anyway, a slip smooths out all those lumps under clingy clothing. My slips as a girl were made out of tricot and you simply can’t find any that doesn’t cost an arm and a leg – there isn’t any at local fabric sources in San Antonio, and online is crazy expensive! I’m not a fan of the new microfiber anything because it doesn’t breath like I need in this humid heat and it’s kind of clingy too. Maybe I’ll see if I can find some in the mix you posted about. Now that my shape is changing and I have the skills, I’ll start making my own “smalls” myself.

    1. And I have to say, I don’t even know if I’ve ever felt or seen a good tricot either! Kind of a hard thing to find. Finding the right fabric for this project can be kind of hard. I would definitely recommend trying one of the swimsuit fabrics or linings from Joann and see what you think. Would love to know how it worked out too!

    2. Have you taken a look at Bra Makers Supply for tricot? Her product, FT-31 is a nylon/spandex blend in 13 colors. I can’t speak to the feel, but I’m sure if you emailed her she’d give you an idea of what to expect.

  5. These slips are so pretty! I’m glad you got around to making them. I have been wanting to make up this pattern, as well as other underpinnings patterns, for some time now. I always think of it when I am in need of a slip and only have a terrible alternative. You motivate me to just go ahead and make it already! Really nice job 🙂

  6. I’d suggest .Sunni, given your terrific sewing skills, that you try this in a silk charmeuse and cut it on the bias. I have a wonderful 1930s vintage slip that is all bias diamonds. Fits like a dream and a knit dress just glides over the bumpy bits. I am in awe of your ability to use a machine to do those zig zag finishing stitches! My machine usually decides to go out for a smoke, or something, when I need that level of detail!
    Fabulous!
    Nancy N

  7. These are so pretty and delicate! I have to confess that I have a beautiful, but translucent, silk dress that I’ve never worn once- I cheaped out on buying the matching slip because I thought, “oh, I could make one myself”… but then I never did. Oops!

Leave a Reply

