the Way Sewing Used to be

This is the tiniest peek into my sewing room today. One of these days, I should show you the whole joint. Not because it’s really spectacular, but because I’m asked about it quite a bit. I’m grateful – beyond measure – to have my own dedicated sewing space. I know many don’t have that and I totally feel for ya sister – I’ve been there!

the-way-sewing-used-to-be

Maddie, from Madalynne, sent me this uber lovely photo art print that she created from a series of photos that she’s been taking called the way sewing used to be. There are several more that I would love to have from her shop, so I did the only thing a girl can do and bought a couple more that are on their way to me as I type. I was so impressed with this one, had to have more, what can I say? The nice thing about these prints is that you can get different sizes and when you’ve got a small space and not a lot of wall space, a small print to jazz up the digs is lovely. Maddie has an incredibly artful eye for all things sewing and it comes through in these photos. Very beautiful. It’s a lovely reminder than even though a lot of things in life can and are practical, they can also be translated into beautiful.

the-way-sewing-used-to-be-2

They would make great gifts, don’t ya think? Hint, hint. I can honestly say, I think every sewing enthusiast would find a little pleasure in putting one of these prints in her/his sewing space. Just had to share. It’s been quite a space of time since I actually thought about making my sewing space more beautiful (instead of just able to fit more fabric!!!). Now hop on over and think about a print for yourself, eh? Tis the season to be nice to yourself! Selfish sewing and selfish sewing space beautifying, coming right up!

xx, Sunni

One thought on “the Way Sewing Used to be

  1. Sunni, you are a gem. Thank you so much for the shout out. #thewaysewingusedtobe has become quite a passion and I love investigating the clever, beautiful and artful package design of sewing’s yonder years, not to mention the now obsolete sewing notions. Hope to see your space when it’s fully decorated!

Leave a Reply

