Party Prep

This week has been a bit of a wash. Busy, you know. Tonight we’re have a party at my store. The September Soiree. I know. I come up with these names only because I can. In real life, I’m not the most serious person and I get a hell of a lot of silliness from both sides of my family’s fence. Tonight is kind of about that. You know, just having fun. Having a lark. Living it up.

4Squarephototemplate

Last night I made homemade pumpkin cookies with browned butter frosting just for the September Soiree. This brings up an interesting thing actually. The mister and I went to a theater production just this week and while the production was fabulous and funny, the cookies we had for a treat just before the play began were more than disappointing. The mister noted that we were probably one of the only couples from our age group attending. There were students in their early 20s and then there were the more mature crowd who looked to be in their 60s. And then there was us in our dirty 30s. Why is this? I’ll tell you one thing – those cookies weren’t bringing anybody in, that’s for sure. Needless to say, these pumpkin cookies are thrillingly good. If there’s one thing I know how to do, its a damn fine treat. I come from treat people. We make and eat treats, treats and more treats. These pumpkin cookies are only made with the real stuff. Naturally fat free, of course (you just need to laugh a lot whilst consuming them for the fat to be burned off before you even have time to metabolize them).

The store is looking pretty awesome, if I do say so myself and I do because I’ve put a lot of time into it. It’s chucked full of good things tonight, the cookies being not the least of it. We’re having a special sale and well, I’ll be cutting fabric as will one of my wonderful ladies and my handsome mister will be ringing people up. There will be music, laughing, fun, scheming, excitement, measuring, fabric buying therapy binge (surely, I can’t be the only one that does this, right?), cookies, chatting, “Does this color look good on me?” and well, all that malarky. You know, the stuff that makes the world go round.

Just thought I would give you a snapshot of the fabric store party of the century. Totally wish you were all here, if only to have a cookie.

11 thoughts on “Party Prep

  1. OK Sunni – I’m going to put it out there right off. This is probably the WORST blog post you’ve ever done for 2 reasons:

    1) You say the store looks great but no photo and;
    2) RECIPE PLEASE!!

    Those cookies look amazing and I’d love to take them to work! You tease and tease about how delish they are, perfect for Fall and all, and then poof! You leave us hanging!

    Sadly disappointed girl. 😉

  2. Your store did not disappoint! Elegant fabrics and beautifully decorated in true “Sunni” fashion:) I was more than proud of you and it was amazing to see you in your element doing little of what you do! You spill over with talent and quietly maintain a humbleness that is not justified. What a great night for you, Sunni!

  3. OK it’s not really fair to show off your yummy cookies and then not give us the recipe LOL. I would SO attend your soiree if I wasn’t on the West Coast of Canada but I would take a pumpkin cookie recipe as solace any day ^__^

Leave a Reply

