Owning a Brick & Mortar Shop is Hard Work!

I’d totally be lying if I didn’t tell you that I’m soooooooo tired right now. It’s been a whirlwind of prepping, cleaning, buying, paying, needing this, wanting that, ordering, transferring ownership of certain things like bills, shoveling snow, working, selling, and well the list goes on and on. Wow. Guys (gals) owning and running a real life shop is hard work. I haven’t been sleeping well either because I’ve been so excited and jittery and stressed out about all of it. That’s what my stress does to me – I don’t sleep and I don’t eat. Ha ha. More like I just forget to eat and the butterflies in the stomach fill me to a point of not even wanting to eat. Weird.

New-Arrivals

I’d totally be lying if I didn’t tell you that its pretty fun though. I mean, yeah, its hard work, but its fun. Just proves that hard work can be fun. And quite satisfying. And it leads to more and more ideas and creativity and wow. I’m so inspired by so many things right now, I feel like I could explode. The fact that I’m way too tired to follow through on all these ideas hardly matters. Ha ha ha!

So what can I tell you? Last week was my first full week as a brick and mortar entrepreneur. Did I make a million dollars? No. I have to say that I’ve done a lot of prepping for this venture and now I feel like I’m finally ready to just start helping people find the fabric they want and need and well, selling my wares. Admittedly, getting the word out is probably one of the harder parts of owning a business. I know this from my online adventures. And then of course there’s the bills and there’s the scheming for what’s next and there’s a lot of people giving you advice and pulling you in all sorts of fun new directions and then there comes a time when you have to finally find your own voice and start doing what you know you feel in your gut to be right. It’s so crazy. Today is that first day where I’m beginning to feel that calm after the storm. You know, where you exhale and think, I’m ready.

Notions-Wall

I’m baring a bit of my shop owner’s soul to you and though it might not make any sense whatsoever, I’m ready. I’m actually ready to start sewing again – haven’t touched my machine in weeks. And there’s a little something something on the horizon where I’ll need something like a whole wardrobe of new things. Yikes! But exciting. Guess I’ll not want for fabric, right? Anyway, just wanted to pop in and say, I’m back baby! We’re ready to roll again. For those of you who’ve emailed me – I’m slowly getting back on top of that. All orders from the online sale have all gone out. Whewwww! The online shop is back up and running too. If you live in the Salt Lake City, Utah area – HOP IN to A Fashionable Stitch (988 East 3300 South, SLC). I’d love to see your bright little face.

Thanks everyone for your incredibly encouraging words from my last post. I’m definitely a little anxious about what this new venture holds, but your words meant the world to me and really gave me hope that I can do this. Thanks. I totally needed that. Now, off to cut out a Papercut Ensis Tee in some pretty lovely wool double knit from les shop. And what about you? What’s on your sewing table?

27 thoughts on “Owning a Brick & Mortar Shop is Hard Work!

  1. Hooray! I’m glad all your hard work is paying off. I know it will be a success. Now, about that teaser! Do we have to guess what that new wardrobe is for? And I can’t wait to see your new tee!

  2. One of these days, when I’m in Salt Lake, I swear I’ll make it in. Exciting!
    What brands of independent patterns do you stock, besides Sewaholic? Nice to know there’s someplace to get nice things semi-locally.

  3. What is the name of your store? While I don’t live there, a visit next summer is a distinct possibility, and I’d love to support your shop.

  4. I’m so incredibly happy for you!! Based on your online shop, blog, and sweet voice I think you would be a fantastic shop owner, and I wish I lived closer to your store! We do love Utah, though, and find our way through SLC every couple years… maybe someday πŸ™‚

  5. Congrats! We just moved from the Salt Lake area a few months ago, but I did shop at Yellow Bird occasionally- it’s a great space, I think you could do really well there! Glad you are enjoying it even in the midst of all of the hard work πŸ™‚

  6. Congratulations! You must be so thrilled. I just ordered the Rigel bomber pattern from Papercut, and it’s definitely the most challenging thing I’ve ever attempted. But I’m glad to hear you’re getting back into sewing again. πŸ™‚

  7. I have total confidence in your new adventure. I’m sure you will have great success. (And I wouldn’t say it if I didn’t believe it.) (And I’m very smart about these things.)

  8. Wow, the photos look great! Can I ask what your opening hours over the New Year break are? I know that sounds eager, but I’m flying from Australia to Park City for 10 days, and I land in / out of Salt Lake City – so I’d love to come in and buy all of those things I never wanted to spend on postage! πŸ™‚

  9. A whole new wardrobe eh? Say no more, say no more. I can’t even start to imagine how exciting and scary having a physical store would be – much more risky but also allows face-to-face contact with customers. Hopefully you’ll be keeping the online store up and running because I’ve recommended it to a few people!

  10. Congratulations! I’m SO envious. I’m a federal employee and during the furlough this year, I was ready to jump and do my own sewing shop too. I’ve had this dream for years but hubs wasn’t keen on the whole entrepreneur gig. Then they put us back to work and …oh well, some day…

    My dream included a classroom in the back to teach: zippers, hems, mending holes, Sewing Machine 101, etc. I’d work with the middle & high school, Scouts, 4H, etc. I really wanted to involve the community as much as possible. You have to drive 20 miles from here just to buy thread so I’d include quilters & their wares too. I wanted a VERY CUTE white picket fenced in front corner of the store with a window called The Crib, painted in modern juvenile (gray/lilac/soft yellow) with all-things-baby. You know you can make baby headbands in a minute and their profit is like 500%. And I’d rent out shelf space for crafters. This changes up the wares, has items in your store that don’t say Made In China, and their friends and family come in to shop even if they don’t sew. The possibilities are endless. My sign would say, Like Us on FB for Specials and I’d have a Stuff the Bag Day where I’d sell a reusable tote bag with my store logo for like $9.99 and on STBD days, everything a customer can stuff in there is 10-15% off, and 25% off all clearance.

    Can you tell I had this going on in my head? Oh yeah, and my store name was “Bobbins”… Can I at least live vicariously through you? Oh and one piece of advice, join the local Chamber if you’re not already a member. It matters and the support you receive is unbelievable.

  11. Congratulations, best wishes for success and prosperity.

    The previous Yellow Bird owner was very kind to me. She went drastically out of her way to draft a ‘box shirt’ pattern and mail it to me, out here in the wilds of Missouri.

    Recently, I’ve come across some other patterns, similar in a way, to the Box Shirt. Instructions come on one printed page and the seamstress uses those instructions to create her own garment. Many of them were published in the 1920’s by Mary Brooks Picken of The Woman’s Institute. I’ve come across others, a 1940’s bra in an ancient ‘Stitchcraft’ magazine, and a slip in an old Needlewoman/Needlecraft magazine form the 1930’s. All of them would be quite fashionable, quite wearable today.

    I love the patterns for their simplicity, elegance, and unfailingly fine fit. If you could find such-like patterns, and offer them in your shop, I feel as if you’d be swamped with orders. Good Luck.

  12. How cool Sunni…don’t forget to eat though! For some reason that never happens to me πŸ˜‰ but then I don’t own a sewing store. I am excited for your new venture and I would certainly come by if I was ever in the area…unless you are visiting Italy and that’s the reason why you need a new wardrobe!

  13. I can’t wait to see your sewing projects again. I’ve always found them very inspiring. I’m currently making my way through the Drape Drape books, so a lot of knits.

  14. Merry Christmas, and good luck with your new shop. Thank you for a very useful and nice blog, that has been a big inspiration for me, as I just started sewing this year. Thanks also for your great online shop, hope that you will expand it with fabrics eventually… πŸ™‚

  15. Sunni
    I think this is great. You will do wonderful. Your passion is so contagious. You have helped keep me on the cutting edge with my sewing students at Davis High. Thanks for being such a great sewing enthusiast!

Leave a Reply

