Yea or Nay: Iron Teflon Shoe

image source

When I posted about my vintage iron (which is still kicking a$$ compared to my old Rowenta!!! jealous much?) a commenter mentioned purchasing a teflon shoe for it. I have to be honest, I’ve tried an iron teflon shoe and found it to be really…lame. But maybe I purchased the wrong one. From what I gather there are ones that are pre-made to fit certain iron dimensions (like the photo above) and adjustable ones. The prefit ones look heaps better than the adjustables, but then again, am I going to be able to find one that fits my iron and is it really worth the money? The one I tried previously is here and it was adjustable and hard to use the iron when I was ironing, as opposed to pressing. I also found it to be oddly clunky/junky, not hot enough, not steamy enough and not glide-ee enough (like gliding over the fabric like a swan on water), even with the iron turned up to the highest setting when without the shoe, it does just fine. Plus getting into corners was pretty much impossible because of the adjustable quality of the shoe. Add to all this that when I had had enough of trying the shoe out, I wadded it up and threw it into the garbage and found it had left some wonderfully awesome junk on my iron plate and if there is one thing I do loathe, its a dirty iron sole plate.

A few days ago, I was getting lost in the archives over at Fashion Incubator and she mentioned (in a post, I can’t seem to find now) that instead of using a silk organza press cloth (my go to for adhering fusible interfacing and pressing seams that shine), just use a teflon shoe for your iron. Granted, I’m pretty sure she’s talking about use with a gravity steam iron and not a standard home iron and though my vintage iron is fairly awesome, I’ve tried those gravity steam irons and there is of course, a stark difference. Still, I wouldn’t mind trying a different brand of teflon shoe, so I turn to you to see what you think. I’ll admit, I’m pretty attached to my silk organza press cloth though, but one has to keep an open mind about all things sewing, I think.

So what do you think? Do you use a teflon shoe for your iron? Any brand suggestions? What do you really think about iron teflon shoes? Yea or Nay? Jump in!

13 thoughts on “Yea or Nay: Iron Teflon Shoe

  1. I have never used a Teflon shoe. But I find it useful using Baking paper especially if I am using applique paper. Works brilliantly!

  2. Ditto with the parchment paper. Really comes in handy sometimes as a press cloth. My experience with a teflon shoe was the same as yours and it also landed in the trash can. As for as the gravity steam iron, my husband has one at his business and it isn’t something you want to have to put away. It requires it’s own dedicated space.

  3. You are correct about the adjustable type, it became a wadder…..I used a made to fit cover like your top photo for years, until it wore out. (Retired now but I used to touch up my clothes everyday for work as well as my sewing projects). By then I had purchased a Rowenta and could not find one to fit. If you can find one that fits your iron they work great. No need for a press cloth to prevent shine!! I paid attention to lint build up around the edge between the iron and the cover and every once in awhile I would take it off and clean off both the iron plate and the inside of the cover. No big deal…..if I could find one to fit my current iron I would buy one again.

  4. Hi there, I have a sewing studio in my home and own a “reliable steam iron” which has a custom Teflon cover and I should say it makes all the difference…. It fits like a glove, solid on and feels like it is one piece with my iron. It distributes steam very nicely. Tried ironing without it and I would get shiny marks on my fabrics. With this plate it’s just perfect and no worries about melting any fabrics. Love, love, love it!

  5. YEA! I had one for a while, but had a real problem trying to get it on my iron. I hurriedly figured it out and started using it after I burned an outer collar of a jacket and didn’t have enough fabric to re-cut it. I’ve been using it ever since. I do not know the name of it though.

  6. I would agree that Kathleen is probably talking about using it with an industrial iron. I’ve not used a teflon shoe but based on the comments here so far it sounds like it’s best to get one that is made for the specific iron.

  7. I have used only the cheap adjustable one but it is great – no shiny marks and I leave it on and have the iron on high and it’s fine. If I want to do a cotton I just slip it off. I want a better one though so will investigate the custom ones. I think it is worth the effort.

  8. I was just thinking about getting one of these because there’s one on the iron at the sewing class I’m taking. BUT (and I’m pretty sure this makes me seem a little crazy) I’m not sure what they do. I just know that that the iron there is about then times better than the iron I have at home. Could it be the teflon shoe?

  9. I don’t use a shoe because my sole plate already has a non-stick coating over it. If it didn’t though, I’d stick with a pressing cloth. I find, especially with the moisture from the steam, it’s just going to be one more area for calk/mould etc to build up so unless you clean and dry it after/before each use I wouldn’t recommend it..

  10. Love the new blog design! The gray-scale theme really makes everything pop! 🙂 I’ve never used an iron shoe, but I’m still super jealous of your vintage iron! Lol

  11. I use a very similar Teflon shoe as shown above on my Rowenta iron. This is my second one – I wore out the first one, in that the Teflon coating began to peel. I have to turn the iron up all the way to get it hot enough for most tasks. It is worth it to me in order to avoid the scorching, melting accidents I have had in the past! However, you do have to remove it occasionally and clean your sole plate. I have very hard water where I live and gunk tends to build up. All that said, I will continue to use that Teflon shoe.

  12. I bought the one pictured and instead of working like it expected, the steam came up and burned my hand. it is on a shelf.

Leave a Reply

