Giveaway: Beginner Serging Craftsy Class

Update! This Giveaway is now over. Winner will be announced soon!

So there were a few of you in the comments from my last post on my serger that mentioned that you had a serger/overlocker and were frightened to death of it. Believe me, I was the exact same way when I purchased my serger, though I have to admit that I was so overjoyed when I got it I immediately went home and spent several hours learning how to thread it. My serger purchase also came with a free class for using my serger, so I signed up for the class and was so happy that I went and learned a few tricks for my serger and serging in general. So when Amy Alan of Really Handmade contacted me and asked if I wanted to giveaway a free access pass to her class on serging to one of my readers, well, how could I say no?

Do y’all know Amy? If you don’t, can I suggest that you head on over to her blog and take a gander at this amazing plaid Anise Jacket. I don’t think I need to tell you, but planning and sewing a plaid jacket is not an easy venture, but just look at the plaid matching on this lovely. It’s truly amazing – would you just take a look at the plaid line-up along the sleeve. Sigh….so gorgeous. I’m a sucker for plaids and I love this jacket. Amy is an amazing seamstress. Additionally, Amy teaches the class on Beginner Serging on Craftsy! So for those of you who are ready to take your serging to the next level or even are frightened to death of using your serger, you need to go check out Amy’s class. Or you could just win the class here! Yay!

So for a chance to win a free access pass to Beginner Serging on Craftsy, all you have to do is leave a comment. Wouldn’t hurt if you left a comment on the kind of serger you have and how long you’ve had it either. And that’s it! I’ll be leaving this giveaway open til Monday (May 27) and then from there I’ll announce a winner, picked at random. OK, friends enter away!

197 thoughts on “Giveaway: Beginner Serging Craftsy Class

  1. Thank you (and Amy) for the giveaway! I have a Brother 929D which my Mum sourced for me from a local tailor who had closed down last summer. I have probably used it twice, and was really useful both times, but it still doesn’t come naturally to me.

  2. I’m just about to buy an overlocker from Janome. Either the 8002 or the 644 but haven’t decided yet. I ordered some books from the library and was going to sign up for the craftsy class once I got my serger. So looking forward to it. Thanks for your posts in regards to this topic.

  3. I’ve inherited a Bernette 334D that I would love to learn how to really use (beyond just basic seam finishing)

  4. Hello.. I have a Singer 14sh754 and find it a nightmare to thread up.. recently tried it on silk organza and just could not get the tension correct.. end result was not very pretty.. would love to win this giveaway. Only recently discovered your blog but am loving it..

  5. Thank you and Amy for your thoughtfulness. I have a Babylock, that I purchased used a few months ago. I have figured out how to thread it (kinda!), but have not used it on a garment yet.

  6. Hello, I bought one of the first sergers made, I think, in the 80s with the intent of making sewing for my children easier. The children are now grown, and I still use my server, but just for edge finishing. I know that there is more that this machine can do, and would like to learn more.
    s more.

  7. I have a Janome 990D serger, I’ve had it for about 6-8 months but I haven’t used it because I took out the thread and now I can’t rethread it.
    I’ve tried a few times but always can’t manage to do it properly.
    Thanks so much for the chance …

  8. What a fun giveaway! I have an Elna 664 that was a gift from my parents this January. I’m still getting to know it (urgh, threading), but so far I really love it. Finishing seams is a breeze!

  9. I got a Brother 1034 D that I’ve successfully managed to thread (only took 3 tries) and used on a skirt without much fuss but I’m a little intimidated by doing more than straight lines with it and feel like there’s some waster potential there.

  10. My Dad got me a used Omega serger many years ago and it’s still going strong. It has a different plate which is used for some other purpose but what is it?!? This class might solve the mystery!
    Thanks for this Sunni.

  11. I don’t have a serger (yet) because I’m pretty new to sewing knits. But I’m rapidly approaching the decision to buy one. Meanwhile, the studio where I take sewing classes does have a serger and I would like to learn before I buy. Thanks for this post series – good stuff!

  12. i have a brother 1034d that i bought at the beginning of the year. i love it but would love to learn more about using it.

  13. I received a Brother 1034d as a gift just two weeks ago so your posts have been great for me. Thank you!

  14. I bought a Brother 1034D a few months ago, but just had time to learn how to use it last weekend. I made a knit skirt and a knit dolman sleeve top in one day, and I was thrilled! The serger was easy to thread, and easy to find the tension. The only problem that I found was when I had to serge the curved sleeve of the top… not easy at all… In fact, I finished with a whole on the fabric, but it was fixable… ufff… I think I really need a class to improve my serger skills, ha!

  15. I’ve got an ancient Elna serger but it’s been decades since I’ve used it & I could really use a how to. That class has been on my list of ones to take, so I’d love to have it & not pay for it! Thanks to you both for offering a chance at that.

  16. I have a Solid Overlockr 900 from Jata. I have sewn a couple of garments with it but I canΒ΄t understand the instructions very well, and I should improve my skills…thanks for the giveaway!

  17. I would love to brush up on my serger skills. I don’t take it out and use it enough but I’m wanting to make some men’s T’s and some knit T’s for myself.

  18. This is sooo great!

    I got my serger a couple of month ago as a present. It’s a rebuild Janome now sold as W6 N 454d . While I did manage to re-thread it (took me – ehm – three hours and a Janome-youtube-video) I’ve only used to keep seams from fraying and managed to do a rolled hem once. Haven’t managed to figure out the rest yet. Especially what the different stitches with 3 or 4 threads are there for.

  19. I purchased a used simple inexpensive singer from s friend who upgraded to see if I would even use it. My serger and I continue to have a love hate relatiohship. I am always working with it to get it to perform properly. I think I mught actually use it more if it was as easy to use as my sewing machine. Thanks for the cr

  20. This would be awesome. I inherited my grandmother’s sewing machine and her serger. She taught me how to sew when I was younger, but we never did get to the serger. I haven’t even attempted to use it, seeing as I don’t have the user manual. I still use her sewing machine today.

  21. What a lovely idea, this giveaway! I bought a Babylock Evolve about 5 years ago, took the one free class offered and didn’t touch it again until last summer. I have this irrational fear I am going to cut my fingers off πŸ˜‰

    Thank you for this opportunity.

    πŸ™‚

  22. I’ve had a Whyte Superlock 2900 for, oh… 7 years now. And I still have no cue how to work it properly. Shame…

  23. Wow! Would love to take this serger class…as all the classes on Craftsy seem to be absolutely fantastic! I’v finally tackled the threading-with much prayer before and during, but would love to hear what Amy has to say about using it (Bernina 1300)it to its’ full potential. Thanks for the opportunity!

  24. I have had a Janome serger for about 4 years and hardly use it. A class would be marvelous! Perhaps if I learned more about it, it would be used I stead of sitting there collecting dust.

  25. My mother-in-law gave me her mother’s old serger, which is a very, very heavy Singer. I’ve had it for about three years now and have yet to actually use it… because it very much intimidates me. I LOVE Craftsy and would LOVE this class!!

  26. Hello thank you for your kind giveaway.
    I have a Singer 14ET754, bought it a month ago and scared to death to use it. Thank you for such kind giveaway! (crossing my fingers)

  27. I’ve been eyeing the Brother 1034D but I haven’t bought it yet because I’m terrified it’ll just sit and taunt me because I don’t know how to use it. A class would be perfect – and somehow it’s something I never even thought of!

  28. I have a Brother 1034 D that, due to also having two kids under 4, I have never used! I would love to find an hour or two to finally break that sucker open and learn to use it.

  29. I would love to take the Beginner Serging Class-thank you!! I have a Babylock Enlighten. It’s great that I don’t have to worry about tensions and the threading is amazing. But I still need to know what I am doing πŸ˜‰ Good luck to me!

  30. Thanks for the giveaway. I have a Singer 14SH654. I’ve had it for 3 years; however, I’ve only used it a couple of times. I would really like to start using it more so this class would be very helpful.

  31. OMG, I too, am afraid of my serger! I have a Huskylock 905, and woul LOVE to learn how to use it. Glad to see I’m not alone; I think we need to create a Serger Support Group! πŸ˜‰

  32. I’ve had a Huskylock 905 for about 6 months and have used it 2 or 3 times, but I still haven’t figured out how to do anything fancy on it. Just (marginally) able to adjust thread tensions! Thanks!

  33. Well, I have the Brother 1034D, and I’ve had it for almost 2 years. I have to admit that I haven’t used it for anything but seam finishing on simple fabrics. I’ve completely mangled the rolled hem and I’m too afraid to try knits yet. I need this class! Especially since I’m about to start sewing a complete nursery suite for my sister’s new baby.

  34. Thanks for the giveaway. I have had a four-thread Brother overlocker for years and it has seldom been used; I’m just too terrified.

  35. I have a Brother 1034D. I spent a weekend peddling my craft items to have the money to pay for it. I made it. I bought the serger – Yay!

    On April 18th.

    I have yet to thread it. I have yet to plug the power adapter into it. I am afraid of it!!!

    I would love to have the class!!

  36. I ordered my Juki MO654DE about a month ago from Allbrands. I can thread it, but there are some tension issues and serging on a bias edge isn’t beautiful. I need to take a class. Thanks for offering this to a lucky sewist!

  37. I love my serger, I use it all the time – but only ever for finishing seams or sewing knits!

  38. I have a Brother 1034, I bought it about five months ago. I’ve used it a bit and keep reminding myself that this machine has a learning curve, just like when first learning how to use a sewing machine! I’d love to take this class, there are still a lot of things I don’t understand. πŸ™‚

  39. Hello ! I just love craftsy and I’ve known your blog through your Craftsy course. I’d love to do more classes (just finished Sewing Studio).

    My serger is a used Singer probably from the ’80s. I use it mostly to finish edges, I’ve tried knits but to no avail so far. I would love to improve !

  40. Love that jacket!

    But I’m currently looking into sergers, want to gift myself one soonish (since I don’t think I’ll get one) and some help on getting to know them would really help! Awesome giveaway, thanks for that. (:

  41. I need this class so badly! I am currently borrowing my mom’s serger. It is a Janome HF134D. The tension settings make no sense to me. I finally got everything threaded and working properly, but I’m not sure how lol. There is so much to learn and I would love to take this class.

  42. Thanks for the fab giveaway!
    I got a Brother serger last October as a birthday present, and although I have used it a fair bit – there is still so much more I need to learn about how to get the most out of it! Would love to win this class!

  43. I’ve been wanting to buy a serger for ages (I’m thinking of one of the lower-end Jukis) but haven’t yet as I’m afraid I won’t know where to start. I’d love to take this class to give me the confidence to take the plunge!
    Thanks!

  44. I don’t have a serger but desperately want one and even have the money saved for one. Am jsut frightened of purchasing something without knowing much about using them. I have had a little dabble in a sewing class but still clueless. I have seen this class on Craftsy and added to my wishlist as soon as it was announced. I would be jumping up and down on my bed if I won.

  45. Hello Sunni, thank you for the giveaway!
    I have an older baby lock bl3-407 and have not used it yet b/c it’s a mystery to me. But, I would just love to understand it. A little direction would open a whole happy world for me!

  46. I’ve been eyeing up that craftsy course after being very impressed with others I’ve done. I’ve a janome that I really should use a lot more than I do. Thanks.

  47. I don’t own a serger yet, because I am afraid I won’t know how to use one. I definitely want one and it is on my list, so being able to know how to use it would be a great help in my decision as to which one to buy.

  48. I have a Brother 1034D and would love to learn more about using it to its full potential!

  49. I have recently purchased a new serger, Janome 1110DX. I retired my 25 plus year Babylock. At the same time, I picked up the Janome Coverstitchpro. I’m looking forward to using both machines!

  50. I don’t have a serger… YET! But it’s on my list to get this year! I would love a recommendation on which one to get!

    Thanks for hosting this awesome giveaway! πŸ™‚

  51. I have a Janome 1200D that serges and does coverstitch and I love it, although I really need to learn more than the basic 3-thread overlock! I would love to take the Craftsy class!

  52. I was just given a BabyLock serger by a friend who had it in her closet for 10 years and just never used it! I haven’t used it yet and would LOVE to take this class!

  53. I have a brother that I bought a few months ago. Grew up using a baby lock but I still only use it to finish edges.

  54. Oh oh – yes please! I actually don’t yet own a serger, but I really wanted to take this course to see what it can do, and what features to look out for when making my choice. Plus its something that I think I need to learn how to use before I sit down and start messing it all up by trial and error.
    I REALLY hope I win. Thanks so much for offering the giveaway. Deb

  55. I have a Toyota serger for over 15 years. I have used it only about 5 times. It still in good shape and works well. I would really love to take the class because I have started sewing my clothes.

  56. This class would save me from tearing my hair out! I bought a babylock prestige 750DS a few months ago (sold in the US as a euro-pro 534dx). I’ve tried several times to use it with very, very limited success! The thread breaks every few minutes, leading to aforementioned hair-tearing! Help!

  57. I was recently given a serger by my mother in law, who left it collecting dust in a closet for 15 years. (I couldn’t believe it either!) I’m still learning how to use it, and I can never seem to get the tension and settings quite right. I would love to take this class and learn more.

  58. I have a brother 1034d serger and really love it. It was a gift from my late boyfriend about 3 years ago, which makes it extra special. I do know how to thread it and use it often to finish seams but I don’t really know what else it can do.

  59. I have the brother 1034d. I really like it, but I know I have tons to learn. I get very confused anytime I need to actually adjust anything, which thankfully isn’t too often.

  60. I’ve never had success with a home serger and because of that, I use the industrial sergers at work. But it’s a hassle to finish my seams during my lunch hour, which is why I have been saving my pretty pennies to buy a new machine. I haven’t purchased a new one yet (I currently have an old baby lock) but winning this contest would push me to finally buy it and learn more about about sewing. And yes, there’s even serging involved in bra making!

  61. I have a Brother 1034d too. I’ve had it since last summer (it was a birthday gift). I’m able to sew withit and change the threads but that’s about it. I love the nice finish it makes though. πŸ™‚

  62. My serger is a Brother 5234 which I bought because of how easy it is to thread (for a serger). I’ve had it for 2 years but know how to do little other than finish seams and rethread it. Sigh. Thanks for the giveaway!

  63. I have a Brother 1034D. I would love to take my serging to the next level. I know nothing beyond basic serging.

  64. I have a Bernina 700 that Ivreceived free when I bought my Bernina 950 last year. I have used it quite a bit but don’t know if I’m really using it effectively. Craftsy is a fantastic site, by the way, and I am currently enrolled in two other courses there.

  65. I have a Toyota SL3304 that my Dad bought my for christmas (couldn’t believe it – he usually just buys me a dvd!)

  66. I have an Elna. I haven’t used it since my son was born, so I have had it for more than eighteen years. It should be serviced, I am sure the oils have gummed up by now.

  67. I have a Singer Quanumlock 5-thread that I’ve really only used two different stitches on, and never ever the coverstitch that was a selling point for me. It’s been 5 years now! Maybe I need a class… *wink, wink*.

  68. I’ve been eyeing this class on craftsy so I’m so glad to have found this giveaway! I don’t have a serger just yet but I was thinking this class would hopefully give me a better idea and help my research for finding the serger that’s just right for me. Crossing my fingers!

  69. Hi Sunni! I’m actually planning to buy a serger soon (belated Christmas gift from my mom I’m finally cashing in haha). πŸ™‚

    This class would be a great introduction!

    Thanks!

  70. I do not have a serger, but I have been debating for a while about getting one. I think the class would make up my mind for me.

  71. What an awesome giveaway! I have a really old Brother 760D which I purchased 2nd hand and I have no idea what I am doing with it but I a, proud of myself for figuring out how to thread the darn thing.

  72. I’ve got an old hobby lock that I inherited from my mother. It serges beautifully on most anything, which is a good thing because I’ve had it for almost 2 years and have never adjusted a dial or had to rethread it (I just tie off the thread onto a new spool). I can thread, clean and tear apart my sewing machine like a pro, but for some reason I have a complete mental block when it comes to sergers. A class would be great!

  73. I got Brother 1034d for mother’s day. I was super excited about it and learned to thread it right away. Still I have so many questions: like what is the correct tension (i don’t have anything to compare with) and what is it supposed to look like? What to do with all those dials? Why some people put 5 tension on left and right needle, but 7 on the rest of threads and so on πŸ™‚ I checked out a book on sergers from local library. But this class sounds so much better than a book! Thank you!

  74. I have a serger that was given to me. I haven’t done anything with it at all though, it is very intimidating looking! I don’t know the model I have, though I figure it is just a cheap one.

  75. I bought a serger last year and have only used it a couple of times. I’m almost regretting buying it ($500!) but your article has made me think I should investigate a little more. I would love to win the Craftsy Class as I know this would definitely help.

  76. I just got an old juki-300 that’s been sitting in a corner for weeks because I’m intimidated. Tha class would be a blessing!

  77. I don’t have a serger yet, but there is not a day that goes by when I don’t think about getting one… I think a better understanding of their full potential would push me from want to need, as at the minute I don’t know anyone who has one to help me go the final step!

  78. I have a 30 year old Elna serger I picked up an an estate auction. I knew the previous owner and she used it successfully for years sewing doll cloths. I am however completely intimidated by it. It’s such a bear to thread! It has been serviced and I did attend a local beginner serger class but the class was HUGE (30ppl!!!) and was not worth my money because I left frustrated and didn’t learn a thing. I haven’t touched my machine since. It’s mocks me every time I go into my sewing room.

  79. I have an old singer I got 20 years ago. I just use it to finish seams but I’d love to learn how to use it for different things!

  80. If I win I am going to gift it to my Mum. She is a little scared of her overlocker!

  81. I’ve had a Singer Ultralock for about a year now, purchased from a friend. But I’m afraid to use it. I experimented a few times, but I haven’t made the commitment to tackle that learning curve yet, even though I know I’m missing out. This class has been on my mind for a while… one way or another, free or not, I’m gonna have to take it someday soon!

  82. I’d love to know how to do more with my serger. I’m not even sure what it is (not being at home right now to look at it). I inherited it from my mom who, other than a giant napkin-making spree right after she bought it, barely used it. I use it to finish my seams with some regularity, but my tensions are always a bit off I and know I could do so much more with it…

  83. I have no idea how to use a serger. A friend found one for me at a garage sale and I don’t know if it even works.

  84. Please count me in! I got my Brother serger as a Christmas gift and it’s a lot of fun to use to finish seams, but i know i’m not using it to its full potential. It would be great to learn more tips =)

  85. I just got a Brother 1034D a couple weeks ago. I’m a bit shocked at how intimidating it is. I managed to force myself to to try threading it and trying a few straight lines…but it’s still scary.

  86. I bought yesterday (!) a Brother 3034 D. Today I threaded it and could finish the edges of a facing. I have so much to learn about my serger. I would be very happy to win this class… Thank you for your giveaway!!!!!!!!

  87. I have a Brother 1034D. I am not too scared to use it for regular seam finishing, but am really lazy about learning how to do anything else on it. I know it could do a whole lot more if I had a little guidance!

  88. OMG I would love LOVE to win this class!! I’ve been dying to sign up, but already have signed up for too many Craftsy classes that I haven’t made my way through yet. But… I think I would DEFINITELY get a lot out of a serging class!! I bought a Bernina 700D about a year ago, and while I know how to change the thread and needles, and oil and dust, of course, I don’t do very much with it, except for serge raw seams!! I mean, I suppose that’s why I bought it, but I’d love to learn more about the little machine so I can use it to its full potential!! Thanks for the opportunity!!

  89. I have a brother and I have used it for knits and serving woven seam allowances, but like many others have said, I have a great deal of frustration if I have to troubleshoot when something goes wrong!

  90. I have a brother and I have used it for knits and serging woven seam allowances, but like many others have said, I have a great deal of frustration if I have to troubleshoot when something goes wrong!

  91. I have a Baby Lock pro line BL4-736 that my mother didn’t want to learn how to use. So far I use it to finish seams. I’ve been debating the Craftsy class, so this would be a boon to my creativity (and wallet) to win it! Thanks for the opportunity!

  92. Oh, lovely! I was not afraid of my serger when I received it (vintage, but new to me). And THEN, it ate a Butterick skirt I was working on. The fabric just slipped under it, and the whole front and back were eaten apart. I was SO upset. My serger is a Janome My Lock 234D. I have figured out from internet and twitter help how to thread it. BUT, problem is, I have NO idea what the dials and settings are for. It did not come with a manual (it was gifted to me, all the parts but no manual), and I have not been able to locate a manual online. So, this course would do wonders for helping me to actually use it properly instead of just using it the way it is set up now. i.e., too afraid to adjust the knobs and don’t know what I am adjusting even if I did! Fingers crossed, and thanks for hosting this lovely Craftsy class giveaway.

  93. I have a White Superlock that I’ve had for probably 10 years. The only thing I use it for is to finish seams. I keep telling myself to learn more about it but never seem to. Winning the class would certainly start me in the right direction. Thanks for the chance.

  94. I so need this class. I just bought my Brother 1034d. I’ve tested it but that’s about it. I’d love to learn all the various stitches and projects I can do with it.

  95. Oooh sweet!!!!
    I’ve owned my serger (a brother) for about 2 years – a gift from my husband! I use it to finish seams. Though I don’t mind threading it, I’m a little intimidated about using the different functions of my serger. Messing with it scares me!

  96. I’m so intimidated by my serger. I have a kenmore. The class would hopefully lessen my intimidation.

  97. Pleeease enter my comment into the drawing pot. I would love to learn the trick to threading the serger with the super stretchy woolly threads. I have the Juki Pearline 654-MO I think. Thanks so much,

  98. My serger is a Pfaff 787 – and it is about 20+ years old!!! It has been a great machine.

  99. I brought an overlocker last summer and love it.I have had some great results and some complete disasters.I have done a couple of craftsy classes and they amazing .I have my fingers crossed this one lands in my in box.Jacqui

  100. I have Brother PL2100, brought it used from a store who used it as a demo 2 years back and I’ve barely touched it. I could use all the help I can get. I want to learn!

  101. This is a great giveawy, count me in! I would love to learn more about my serger. I have a Singer 14T968DC that has cover hem capability.
    Renae

  102. I have a Pfaff three thread overlocker given to me by my husband 27 years ago, I have had almost zero lessons although I have used the overlocker on many projects over the years. I am sure my techniques could use some refining.

  103. I just bought a used Janome 634D so this is perfect timing! would love to take the craftsy class since my local dealer does not offer lessons.

  104. I have a White Speedylock and I use it to finish seams but I know there is so much more I could be doing with it. I’ve had it for about 3 years now but never had a class. I’d love to win the class!

  105. I have a Juki serger and have been learn new fun things to do with it besides finishing seams from the owners manual. It does not have a lot of information but how to thread. I would be thrilled to have the opportunity to win and learn from AMy.

  106. I have a Brother 1034. I use it to finish off seams but I know that there is so much more it can do and I am not taking advantage of it! I would love love love to have someone give me more guidance in this. Thanks to you and Amy for this giveaway!

  107. My husband gave me a serger for Christmas and I am enjoying using it. I’ve taken your class on Craftsy and love it! Being able to take this class would really up my game. Thanks so much.

  108. I have a Kenmore serger which is the last of its kind though it is treated like a Janome since Janome used to make Kenmore sergers for Sears. I have taken Amy’s class and love it! Her wedding ring is so beautiful, too. But sometimes I would look at her ring and miss the serger part πŸ˜‰ I love the plaid jacket and cannot believe the time that went into the pattern alteration, cutting, and matching up plaids. I think I would be in the looney bin! That’s why she is the master seamstress!

  109. I have a Janome that I’ve had from about 2 years (before that I was using my Mum’s old Janome). I really only use it for neatening seam allowances and would love to start using it to its full potential. A class like this is just what I need I think.

  110. I have my grandma’s 30+ year old serger and I am truly scared to death of it! πŸ˜€

  111. I have the brother 1034D. I can use it for basic cotton side seams. It would be nice to be able to figure out tension for lightweight jersey. I also would like to learn some of the other features like attaching elastic.

  112. I had a Riccar, an old one. But I’m looking for a new one. I’ll borrow my mothers for the summer but come fall who knows.

  113. I just love Craftsy classes, and I know I’d get a lot of use out of this one. Thanks for the opportunity to win it! I have an older Babylock serger that I got from Craigslist, so no classes for me. But, it did come with lots of books that I’ve been slowly wading through. I’d love to see some hands on lessons though!

  114. I don’t have a serger… Yet πŸ˜‰ However, I’d love to learn what all I can “do” with a serger, before making that investment, so winning this free class would be wonderful!!

    To be honest, I thought all a serger could do was finish seams really nicely. Guess I need to look into what all sergers are capable of doing!

    So, with that being said, Please Pick ME!!! ;o)

    Beth

  115. This would be such perfect timing! My mother-in-law has been telling me for months that I can take her overlocker home with me but I am so intimidated that I keep pretending to forget it. This might just be the last push I needed to up my sewing game a bit. Thank you for the giveaway!

  116. My friend found a Bernette 43D on the street (someone had thrown it out with their trash) and he had no idea what it was. It was with a bunch of other sewing stuff though, so he grabbed the box and gave it to me since he knows I like to sew. I’m pretty sure it’s in perfect working order. I love it so far, though I’m sure I’m not using it to it’s full potential.

  117. Hello! My wonderful husband told me that by the end of July, I’ll have MY serger! It will be a Brother 4234D so a Craftsy course would be PERFECT!

  118. I found that if you cut up some old T-shirts and towels and practice serging the edges you can make some good dusters and learn how your machine works.
    I’d love to know more about the in & outs (or it it the Ups and downs of the serger.

  119. I have a REALLY expensive Babylock that my hubby bought me for our 25th anniversary…and I’ve had it over a year and never used it, for fear of messing up, I guess. I really need my hand held, I guess. Thanks for the chance.

  120. I just bought this class to get over my fear of my pfaff. Too bad my laptop died. Glad I’m not alone with my serger fear. Just a comment no need for me to win.

  121. I just scored a Bernina 700D off Craigslist and am dieing to explore all the possibilities! This class would be the perfect place to start. Thank you to you both!

  122. Oh goody, i bought mi Janome just over a year ago, love it and use it lots, but there is also a lot of unused potencial there, will love to learn more.
    Cheers πŸ™‚

  123. I have a bernette 334d. It is built like a tank and really is a workhorse. I still only use it to do seams and would love to learn more tricks.

  124. Thank you for your post on sergers! I hadn’t really considered one because I thought they would be too expensive and difficult to use. But you convinced me to give it a try and I ordered an American Home serger. I would love to win the class, but will definitely sign up for it regardless!

  125. I would LOVE to win this class! I just brought home a JUKI MO-735 yesterday. It is still in the box! Heaven knows I’m going to need all the help I can get with this little baby.

  126. I bought a Brother 1034D last summer and have used it as is for the past few months. Trouble is, I need to change the thread colour and am TERRIFIED I won’t be able to rethread it! So I’m using French seams instead…

  127. I have a Riccar that I inherited from my mother. She LOVED it and could do anything with it. She would sew entire garments on it! I can use it for basics but cannot do roll hems, etc. so I need a class πŸ™‚ LOVE this website, thanks for all you do!

  128. I have a Bernina that I bought used and I love it although I have only used it once. I too am fearful of the serge! πŸ™‚ the class would be really helpful, I hope I win!

  129. I don’t own a serger yet. I’ve been eying the Brother 1034D or one of the basic Janome models. I think not knowing how to use one is what’s keeping me from taking the plunge. I’ve heard good things about Amy’s class and would love to win!

  130. I love Craftsy! And I am so glad you give us this opportunity! I am still debating on what serger to get but most likely it will be the very popular Brother 1034D! thank you!

  131. I’d love to win access to this class! I have a Bernette FunLock 007D and I’ve had it maybe 15 years. I only dabble in serging. πŸ˜‰

  132. Like many who have posted, I have the Brother 1034D. I’ve had it for several years but only use it rarely. The last project I made from it was a woven shirt from a 2009 issue of Burda WOF – yes, I made it in 2009. I have to find replacement for the power cord as I think I managed to donate it with someother mystery power cords last year when I went on a cleaning rampage right before I gave birth. I want to get back into serging – this craftsy class would be great to have! Thanks for hosting the giveaway!

  133. I was inspired by your posts on sergers to finally purchase one. Just ordered the Brother 1034D. I can’t wait for it to arrive! This craftsy class would be perfect to help me get started!

  134. I have a Singer serger that was a gift to me from a friend. When she learned how much I wanted one, she gave me hers. She had never used it. Her husband had bought it for her, due to the salesperson’s spiel, when he bought her a sewing machine for her quilting projects. She was happy to pass it on. So blessed!! I have been using it a ton these past few weeks as I’ve been sewing little girls’ pink satin dresses for an upcoming wedding. I’d love to take a class to learn how to do more things with it!

  135. I’ve been debating buying a serger this year, and have my heart set on a Juki! This class might give me the confidence to take the plunge…

  136. What a great giveaway!
    My serger is a Kenmore that cost me around $500 (Canadian) a couple years ago. It’s definitely not the most high quality thing around but it does the job! (albeit a little poorly) I’d love to save up for a Babylock but I just keep seeing new patterns and fabrics I like and can’t help myself!

  137. This would be just an awesome win. πŸ™‚ I have a Speedylock that my mom gave me. She has trouble seeing now and with memory loss, sewing isn’t at the top of her ‘to do’ list now. 😦 I would love to learn to use it better. Thanks!

  138. I have been using a serger since 1965. Would not want to sew without one? My current serger is a Baby Lock and it is self threading,, that is the greatest!!!

  139. This is a wonderful giveaway! I don’t have a serger yet but I plan on asking for one for my birthday, this course would be perfect to go together with it (it’s on my Craftsy wishlist ^^). Thank you very much!

  140. I have the brother 1034D which has been great! But I would love to learn more about it in this class!

  141. CoUnt Me In!Mine Is Brother 1034D… Just Got It This Month for My Birthday, And Im Plenty Intimidated By It! Excited, But A Lil Scared Of The Machine! Thank You So Much For The Chance. It’s Been On My Craftsy Wishlist! πŸ™‚

  142. My Mother-In-Law gave me her old serger a few months ago. I admit that I haven’t even dared to plug the thing in! All the do-dads, buttons, and knobs on it seem pretty intimidating. It would be great to learn how to use it.

  143. I’m in the market for a serger and have no idea how to use one. This course would help me greatly once I purchase a machine.

  144. I’ve had a Bernina 1300MDC for about 3 months. It’s great! I’ve been fumbling along trying to figure it out on my own, so the Beginner Serging class on Craftsy would be a big help.

  145. Oooh, this looks awesome. I have a Brother 1040 D (I think that’s it. It’s still in a box, b/c sadly my craft room is the last thing to get unpacked from our move.) I’ve loved it for finishing the insides of things (so satisfying!) but I know there’s lots more I could be doing with it.

  146. Sounds lovely – thanks for the opportunity to win!

    I just purchased a Bernina 800DL – I think that’s what it’s called. I haven’t dared use it yet, though I’ve wanted one for years! I think I need a class of some kind!

    Best wishes.

  147. My husband bought me a Singer serger for Christmas a couple of years ago. I have used it a few times, but could certainly use a class! Thank you!

  148. I’d love to make more and better use of my serger. At the moment I just use it for finishing raw edges.

  149. I have had a Viking 909 for a couple of years. I used it to finish seams, but nothing else. I am comfortable with threading it and I know It do more things, but I’m afraid to try them.

  150. Thank you for offering this opportunity. I have had a Huskylock 909 for several years and I still have not gone beyond finishing seams. Would love to learn new ways to use my serger to its’ fullest and lose the fear I have.

  151. I’ve recently acquired an old Bernette 334D, and yep – terrified. The Craftsy class sounds like just the ticket…

  152. I have a bernina serger. I only know how to do a straight seam and how to thread it. I’ve had it about 3 years. I dream of making t-shirts and leggings with it!

  153. I’ve just been given an old Elna serger, actually waiting for it to come back from having a much needed service. I’ve never owned one before, would love to get confidence using it with the Crafsty class.

  154. I thank you for your site and for the zipper class you offer via Craftsy. It has been more than helpful and I have lost my zipper fear because of it! I would love to win this class so that I can conquer my fear of my serger as well, which I have had for a couple months and yet have not done any serious work with it. Thanks again for your time and efforts!

  155. Woo! Exciting. I have a serger. I bought a used Juki serger on kijiji. I love it but would love the ins and outs of sewing with it.

  156. I have an old Bernette 234 that was given to me by my Hubby’s Grandma. I have gotten so far as threading it and I’m not even sure if I did that right. Would love to win this class and learn how to use my new to me serger!

  157. Great giveaway! I have a brother 1034d which is great, though I don’t know what to do with it beyond serging seams! I checked out the preview on Craftsy I would love to win and learn how to properly use and clean my serger!

  158. I’m just about to get a serger this month and had my eye on the craftsy course, so it would be perfect timing for me. I’m thinking about getting a Bernina on the princple that I love my bernina machine and everytime I’ve strayed, I have regretted it, apart from a beautiful old Necchi Lydia.

  159. It took me 3 years to figure out why a serger is important and then to build up my nerve to purchase one. I’m sooo happy I did! I bought a Juki MO654DE and now I need some quality instruction to really learn to use it. Fingers crossed!

  160. I bought a Janome 7034d Magnolia About 1 or 2 years ago and honestly, I have used a serger 1 time in my life. If I can figure it all out though, I have no doubt I am going to adore this little machine. πŸ™‚

  161. I am just looking over the options for purchasing a serger….been saving for awhile and am so excited to get one, but learning to use it properly is a different proposition πŸ™‚

  162. I think I’ve had my serger for over a year, and it somehow never seems to do what I want it to do. It stretches out stuff like crazy and I haven’t found a way to remedy that.

  163. Oh gosh! Could it be any more timely!? I just got a new Singer Pro-5 at a great sale and it has been in the box for about a week. I got it out, looked carefully at all the fancy shiney parts and the maze of the threading diagram and put it back in the box! I am completely intimidated by this smart combo of plastic and metal, although I love the concept of me making use out of I one day.

  164. I have a Janome hat hubby bought me for my birthday last year. I just did the free class at the shop which was useful. She made us change needles and rethread. — but I’m still scared of rethreading by myself … would be fun to learn some more!

  165. I have had my serger for 7 years now. It was a hand-me-down from my mum, I really have no idea how to use it, everything is trial and error… Usually works for me.

  166. I own a small bernina serger which I bought so many years ago that I cannot remember. I do remember however that it sat in its box for about 4 years……I was afraid of it. Now I use the serger but would sure like to know more about it!!!!!!
    Karin

  167. My husband, family and friends all chipped in for my new JUKI MO654DE Portable Thread Serger Sewing Machine for my birthday! I have been searching the Internet on everything to make with it, and came across Amy. Looks fantastic! Thank you.

  168. I’m excited to have found your blog, and really interested in the Craftsy classes offered.

    It is so much more effective for me to take a class in this way as I can repeat and repeat the lessons without slowing others and always have access to the content when I have questions. Thanks!

  169. Yes please, I sooo need this class! I have owned a Toyota serger for around 10 years and I’ve never really got to grips with it. I really need to learn how. :o)

  170. I’ve had a cheapo Brother serger for a few years now, but, I’m ashamed to say, haven’t used it to actually sew anything.

Comments are closed.