Zippy Skippy Trippy

I have a rather large announcement to make today. Something that I’ve been dying to get off my chest for a bit now actually and this coupled with other things that have happened here in the happy land of all things A Fashionable Stitch are the primary reasons I haven’t blogged as much usual.

So anyway, today I have a treat for you. There’s a free class at Craftsy with your name on it. That’s right, your name. on. it. I taught the class and can I just state for the record, there is something completely unnerving about watching yourself on tv, or the internet as the case maybe. It’s surreal. It’s weird. It’s uncanny. I can’t get over it. Whatever. We shot the classes in November and Craftsy did their crafty thing and put it all together for you in a wonderful little package and its on……. Zipper Insertions! Hip Hip Hooray! The official name of the class is Mastering Zipper Techniques and I go through, step by step, how to insert a slot seam, invisible and lapped zipper all by machine. Plus there’s a class on how to handle the slot seam and invisible zipper with a lined/faced garment. I think there’s something in there for everyone. Even if you’re an intermediate sewer, its always fun to see how someone else does something, right? I think you’ll all enjoy yourselves and hopefully pick up a tip or two along the way. I had a ball doing it all!

And if nothing else, now you can experience what I sound like. And then you can ask yourself, “Wow, does she really sound like that?” To which I would say, “That’s funny. I asked myself the exact same thing.” And I did. Like I said, it’s different watching yourself on tv. Oh, how do movie stars do it? So hop on over to Craftsy and Zipper out! Don’t forget, this class is FREE! That’s right, I said FREE FREE FREE! Knock yourselves out! Yay!

Can I geek out for just a minute more too with y’all? I don’t know if I’ve ever stated this, but my absolute, hands down, favorite movie of all time is Bridget Jones’s Diary. I’m totally silly like that. So, on my plane trip to Denver to shoot this class guess what exploded in my bag – why my BLUE chalk pen of course. It wasn’t the white one or the pink one, no it was the blue one. And there was blue on nearly all of my sewing supplies that I brought for the taping. Yup. Blue. Blue soup. My god, is that blue soup/chalk pen? Why yes, yes it is. Thank you. Very. Much.

“Do I really sound like that?”
Sunni

80 thoughts on “Zippy Skippy Trippy

  1. Sunni, Thank you so much for informing us of this great opportunity to learn how you insert zippers as well as, like you stated, hear your voice so we can put the sound of your voice with your blog. I love reading your blog and appreciate your wit. I do have a curiosity question, what type of zippers do you use for pants? Trousers or jeans, do you use the same in both styles? Would love to know your opinion of metal vs. coil for pants. Thanks

  2. Sunni, this is so exciting! I’m still trying to get my head around lapped zippers so this will be a rad watch. And how awkward is being taped? I’m sure you powered through it like a boss!

  3. Well done!! I’ve downloaded it and can’t wait to get to it – I was just wondering how I was going to get up the courage to learn about lapped zippers. Thank you!

  4. How exciting, congrats!! I think zippers are something that you can never see taught enough ways since you might always pick up a little something to make them better. I’ll definitely be popping over to take your class!

  5. Congratulations! I love Craftsy classes. Even though I am already a sewing teacher I still like seeing how other people teach, and I am always looking for new tips and tricks. Plus, there is no point in the sewing world where you can say, “Okay, I’ve learned it all.” I just added it to my list.

  6. This is absolutely brilliant! I can’t wait to watch every moment. It’s going to be fantastic supplementary material to any sewing class or pattern that includes a zip insertion. Massive congratulations – you deserve this!

  7. Congratulations Sunni and I’ve just signed up for your class and can’t wait to watch it as I know I’ll learn some great tips from you for sure. Looking forward to joining you for more classes on Craftsy in the future too 🙂

  8. YAYYYY

    Thank you for doing this and for free?!?! amazing. I seriously leave zippers out entirely because i have never inserted a zipper I was happy about. i bet you can change all that!

    can’t wait! xo

  9. Your voice makes you sound older than I thought you were. Not like *old* older but just, not like 25. Can’t wait to watch the whole thing! Congrats 🙂

  10. Congraulations and thanks for this!! It will be my go to every single time I insert a zipper, seeing as I forget how to do it EVERY SINGLE TIME!
    Be thankful that it was just chalk and not rancid orange juice left in your backpack that leaked all over your biology notes in highschool. Super gross.

  11. OMG!! So happy for you!!!! SO, so happy! I can’t wait the 3 more hours ’til I get home so i can watch you and hear you! And i just love the topic, and i also need it 🙂 You should have a class on drafting the perfect pencil skirt, too. maybe soon?
    Congrats on the class! and to many more to come! xoxo

  12. I am so excited about this class! I really need all the help I can get with improving my zip skills, and seeing and hearing you will be the icing on the cake. Hooray,Sunni!

  13. You sound so good! :))
    This is my first time to comment your blog, but I am a big fan and I have been following you for a long time.
    If I hadn’t known I would have thougt that you are a professional TV host /teacher. You are so smooth, so calm and so clear 🙂 Good job and many more classes to come!
    And thank you for your inspiring blog!
    Greetings form Estonia!

  14. Oh how exciting for you!! I signed up for your class. I am super excited because I am really needing to know how to sew a zipper with a lining. Perfect timing. Congrats, Sunni!

  15. Congrats on the Craftsy class! Definitely gonna watch the class. I’ve only done invisible zips, so it’ll be fun to learn how to insert different zippers.

    I totally agree with you on the “Does my voice really sound like that?” I hate listening to myself on video. It sounds like a totally different person. It’s like a don’t even know who I am anymore… LOL

  16. Wow Sunni, that rocks! It’s so great to see sewing bloggers like yourself becoming major influences in the craft community. It keeps me inspired to continue sewing and blogging, I’d love to achieve the kind of success you have had in the future.

  17. You rock my socks! I have needed this like you wouldn’t believe. Even though I consider myself an intermediate sewer, I feel like my weak spot is zippers. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

  18. I love Craftsy, and signed up for class immediately! I am looking forward to it very much, as I have not mastered zippers as well as I would like. Are you planning on other episodes? I’d gladly buy a class from you.

  19. Thank you so much for the zipper lessons…. And you look and sound absolutely wonderful. I look forward to learning all about zippers from your Craftsy class.

  20. Yay Sunni! Congrats on the new class! Aren’t the Craftsy people SO nice? I have really enjoyed working with them for nearly a year now. I can’t wait to watch your class! And watching yourself? Totally torture! I feel you on that one completely. But I’m sure you’re great 🙂

  21. Congratulations!
    I’ve popped it into my Craftsy account and I can’t wait to watch it when I get a chance.
    I’ve been struggling with zippers lately so this is a well timed coincidence.

  22. It’s funny. I can do all manner of things sewing, but it’s been a learning curve for zippers and buttonholes, and I still feel like I can learn new tricks. I’d never inserted one before my dad died, because for both me and my Mom, that was *his* job! (Along with threading the sewing machine… but that’s another story!)

  23. Congrats! I can’t think of a more perfect zipper teacher. I literally look at your handpicked lapped zipper tutorial every time I put one in.

  24. Sunni, Congratulations!! I am surprised it took this long for you to be on Craftsy! I can’t wait to go, download and watch! Your invisible zipper tutorial is always the one I go back to. It is *the best* out there!

  25. Omg, my coworkers and I were just quote scenes and lines from that movie at lunch today. We’re teachers – my fav is where Bridge is at the dinner party and everyone asks why she’s still single. Others – the blue soup, ironic because I teach home economics and we were in the food room. I will definitely use the tutorial with my textiles students. Thank you.

  26. That’s so fantastic! Do you know what, I was just thinking the other day that you’d be great on Craftsy and here you are! I’m off to sign up for your little class now and fingers crossed you’ve got some more classes lined up for us!

  27. Congratulations Sunni! I will definitely be adding your class to my Craftsy list. Even after dozens and dozens of zipper insertions…I still need training 🙂

  28. Congratulations! I’m really looking forward to watching this class! I’m enrolled in many Craftsy classes and I’ve learned a lot from them, even when I didn’t really expect to..

  29. Oh! I’m so excited!! What a great idea for a class! And I just love Craftsy’s whole platform. I also love when it features names and bloggers that I admire and follow. So congrats Sunni!! Great news!

  30. Thank you! =D
    I just signed up for craftsy and got your class-thanks again for making it free. Going to start with the completely superficial parts first: you look awesome and the combo of demure+super capable is tres attractive. Gonna watch through the video now and come back here for further commenting.

  31. zomg you are awesome. Got the sexy-teacher thing covered Jessica has nothing on you. Onto more pragmatic things-very clear and well demonstrated session that. Tweeted about it just now-hope you get heaps of signups-looking forward to more classes by you.

  32. I am very happy for you to see you on Craftsy. You did a very thorough lesson, great job! You only seemed nervous for about the first five minutes max, you’re a natural!

  33. I love your Craftsy class! It’s well-organized, the demonstrations are great and you are a wonderful presenter. These are techniques I can use. I’m learning a ton. Thanks!

  34. Just found your class and THANK YOU! I always love learning new techniques to make sewing just a bit easier. I have subscribed to many Craftsy classes and yours is a perfect addition. And now your blog is in my favorites! I look forward to spending my mornings with you.

  35. I’ve watched with great pleasure your class on the zippers and i have to say — well done. I’ve been putting in zips into all manner of garments, cushions, etc for more than 50 years and learned how to move into the 21st century from you! Ihad never thought about using an adhesive or to reinforce the seam. In facy I think that I will be placing an order with you soon.
    Do you do mail order overseas?

    Keep up the good work you’ll soon be onto your next class, looking forward to it already.

  36. I’ve watched with great pleasure your class on the zippers and i have to say — well done. I’ve been putting in zips into all manner of garments, cushions, etc for more than 50 years and learned how to move into the 21st century from you! I had never thought about using an adhesive or to reinforce the seam. In fact I think that I will be placing an order with you soon.
    Do you do mail order overseas?

    Keep up the good work you’ll soon be onto your next class, looking forward to it already.

  37. I just watched your Lesson 1 on Craftsy, had to say thanks-
    learned about stablizing fab before sewing! After 50 years of sewing I learned NEW tips!!!

  38. I can’t wait to watch this. Zippers are a really confusing area and this will be a great resource. I just started making teaching videos for oil painting techniques in my studio and I understand about the questioning your voice thing. Mine are self shot and I have a really quiet voice. The more you do, the more you get comfortable with it.

  39. Thank you so much for the free zipper class. I am not keen on zippers and keep avoiding garments that have them because I am never satisfied with my insertion skills. My goal this spring and summer (thanks to you)is to master this skill. I will have your class up on my laptop guiding me each step of the way.

    Thanks again!
    Denise

  40. I’ve just taken the class and even though I knew how to insert zippers, I’d never used the lapped zipper technic and I’ve never found a simple to follow tutorial. Yours is amazingly easy to understand and I am excited to apply it to my next dress for a vintage feel. Congratulation, you’ve done a great job (and you sound adorable and so nice)!
    Love from Spain

  41. Thank you Sunni for the free Craftsy Zipper Techniques class. I just purchased an invisible zipper foot for my machine and I am going to attempt this. With your help I know I can do this. I am going to order the fusible knit stay tape from you too! Great blog!

  42. Sunni,
    Thank you so much for the zipper class!
    I have learned new techniques and am so
    excited! Looking forward to taking another
    class from you!

Leave a Reply

