2-in-1 Sewalong: Cloth Cutting

That day has finally arrived. Well, Ok, ok, I actually cut my cloth for one dress over the weekend and got a bit of a headstart with it so that I can keep up with the sewalong posts. But you can bet that I’m cutting my other dress today – the wrap version. This also just reminds me that I haven’t officially stated my fabric selections. For those of you who are interested, and even for those of you who aren’t, you’ll be seeing a lot of each of the following:

Simple white linen for the shirt dress – not even my wedding dress was white, so this is a big step for me.

Gorgeous 3-ply silk crepe from Gorgeous Fabrics. I know. I know. If you’re not jealous, you should be because this stuff is just amazing!

I’m terribly, terribly excited for both versions of the dress. Ok, actually I’m thrilled! Anyway, today’s post is a reminder to cut your cloth for your dresses, as if you didn’t know. Don’t forget to pre-treat your fabric. There’s a bunch of articles on how to do that and you have my own here. From there, cut your cloth. Here’s a few beginner’s tips for cutting into your fabric and if you’re using a slippery fabric and you’re a shears lover, use this tip. Please note that you can also use a rotary cutter and mat.

A couple more reminders and tips for each version:

Shirt Dress Sewalongers ~ Cut one piece of interfacing for your under collar piece (we traced off this piece via this tutorial) and the back facing (#11). Piece #3 is the interfacing for the buttonhole/front facing, so don’t forget to use that piece too.

Wrap Dress Sewalongers ~ Skip the facings and cut yourself some bias tape. Remember this post? You don’t have to cut into any interfacing, unless you really want to use the facings. Isn’t that something to shout about!

Happy Cutting!
Sunni

7 thoughts on “2-in-1 Sewalong: Cloth Cutting

  1. I am jealous! That silk-crepe is exactly my color/style… I’ve never seen anything of the sort at Joann’s (actually, I’ve never really seen anything I wanted to wear at Joann’s O_o, but maybe I don’t have enough experience/vision.)

    1. Oh dear – you would never find a fabric like this at Joann! Ha ha! I mostly have to look online for fine fabrics. There is a local fabric shop here in SLC that sells fine apparel fabrics, but alas, only one!

  2. What a gorgeous silk. My eyes have gone green with envy! I’m spitting as well because my pattern STILL hasn’t arrived in the mail, fingers crossed it does this week! I’ll be playing catch-ups then!

  3. Wow! That silk crepe is absolutely stunning.

    I’m not joining in this Sewalong, but will be reading with interest and can’t wait to see the finished dresses.

  4. For marking within a seamline, clip a tiny notch or a small slanted slit into the edge of the seam (tiny being the operative word! Slanted slit means that the cut is on the bias, and less likely to fray). For internal markings, you can poke a pin vertically through your pattern and all layers of fabric, hold it gingerly in place as you separate the layers and put other pins to mark where the vertical pin goes through. Thread marking, with tailor’s tacks, is a wee bit more time consuming, but also a venerable and respected way to mark. I always opt for removable markings, myself. Chalk, pencil, “vanishing pens” and — worst of all — punching or cutting a hole to mark the end of a dart, pocket placement, etc., may not go away when you want them to go away. The hole-cutting practice is sound practice for manufacturers, but makes alterations merry heck. I sometimes use the sharp edge of a sliver of soap to mark hemlines, esp. on dark fabrics.

Leave a Reply

