2-in-1 Sewalong – Schedule

Friends, I’m so excited that you guys are so excited about this sewalong. I’ll admit that I never know what to expect when I pick a pattern – and I agonized about Simplicity 1880 for a bit – and I never know what people will think or if they will join along. Thanks so much for crushing those fears! Yay! Today, as promised, is a schedule of sewalong events. I’ve made up a calendar which you can download here and print out for reference. Now here’s the thing, for the most part, the calendar is pretty much set. But I’m going to say that there might be a few things that are tentative – you know just in case. I plan to work my little heart out giving you the lowdown on tutorials and tips that I’ve found to be stellar, but just know that you don’t have to keep right up with me. We’ll have a sewalong party in July, say the 19 & 20. Sound good? That way, you’ll have plenty of time to catch up and finish.

I also created a flickr group! Make sure you join up! I’ll be checking over there daily to see if you’ve posted questions and discussions. Upload your photos for your fabric picks to muslins to fitting issues you’re having to finished garments. We want to see it all! Yay! I think that just about covers everything for today. Let me know what you think of the calendar of events! You guys are the best!

xoxo,
Sunni

31 thoughts on “2-in-1 Sewalong – Schedule

  1. I’m so excited about this challenge! I’m a beginning sewist and extremely slow. I’ve cut out what I hope will be a working muslin. Since I’m still learning to put together a garment any alterations to a muslin may be beyond my skill set right now. I can’t wait to see how you make everything work — especially the neckline for the wrap version.

      1. I am not a new sewista and I am still slow. LOL do what you can, when you can!! You’ll be great!! And if it isn’t great to you, think of it as practice!

  2. I am at the same level with Rory but…if anybody could teach me anythihg that would only be you, Sunni! Thank you for the brilliant idea to host this sewalong. I am planning to try the wrap dress (those buttonholes might be a bit much for me 😉 )
    Thank you! thank you!!! Now i just need to get the pattern

    1. Totally understandable! The wrap dress will be a perfect project for those who feel like they are still in the beginner category but sort of ready to branch out from just working on skirts. Plus this style will be rather easy to fit too and that always makes for easier sewing!

  3. This looks like an excellent plan. I’ll follow your posts, but make no promises that I will keep up with the group! This pattern is so sweet — it reminds me of the dresses we sewed in the mid-late 1970s, with its front gathers into a shoulder yoke, and the swingy skirt, and the convertible collar. Even the cuffed full sleeves on the wrap dress make me nostalgic for that time of at-last-i’m-done-with-high-school-bring-on-the-boys optimism and youthful vitality! I look forward to seeing your finished dresses.

    1. This was exactly what I was thinking of too! I was eyeing a vintage Vogue Givenchy pattern on Etsy from the early 80s and its got nearly identical style as this modern Simplicity. I personally think its so lovely! Thank you LinB! I always look forward to your wonderful comments and insight!

  4. I’m so glad that you’ve gotten such a positive response about this sew-a-long.
    I usually don’t join in (I blame it on spending most of my time on my 3 young kiddos), but I think this might be right up my alley.
    Hope to see you over on flickr soon!
    Jen (piggybaby)

    1. Oh I most definitely understand. My sister has 3 little rascals and they definitely take alot of her time, but she tries to squeeze in a little sewing here and there. I do so hope you’ll join in. We won’t be going too fast.

  5. I want (need?) to join in as I’ve had a shirt dress and a wrap dress in my queue for months! Hope it’s ok to use a different pattern as I already have all my supplies.

    1. I think that’s just fine! I’m quite sure there are several patterns that would be very similar to this one and even if its not exactly the same, I have a feeling everyone will learn something along the way. At least I hope so!

      1. Also joining on these grounds! I was figuring I’d buy the pattern at Jo-Ann ’cause sale, but I was rustling through earlier tonight looking for a blouse pattern and found a shirtdress pattern with nearly the same cut and features, only I like the skirt more!

  6. Wow I love this pattern and had been searching for a perfect shirt dress pattern. I love this and I had completely missed it! I’m in!

  7. I am so happy I came across your blog and sew-along. I bought this pattern a couple of months ago, excitedly brought it home, then saw it had a side zipper… an INVISIBLE side zipper! I was so discouraged. Perhaps you’re going to have lots of tips for successfully managing these? If so, I look forward to completing this project.

  8. I just realized that you haven’t scheduled any sewing time on the weekends. My full time job wrangling three little ones usually means I try to catch up sewing on the weekends. So funny how we squeeze it in! Never mind, the over all plan of a dress in three weeks is totally doable! And it will be fun to see not only how everyone does the dress, but when everyone does it.

  9. Soooo excited! I live in Germany right now and was bummed that I wouldn’t be able to participate, but after your post about the pattern sale, my Mom picked up the pattern and is shipping it to me. 🙂 I may have to play a little catch up, but I can’t wait to get started! Great sew-a-long, Sunni.

  10. I want to join too… I only just saw this, I don’t have the pattern (maybe I can source it in town in the next couple of days), or any material.. BUT can I still follow along and if I can get the needful I’ll try and catch up? I love both of the dresses, I especially love wrap dresses.

  11. I have finally managed to get all the items together, so would like to join in too.

    I have emailed you also to ask if it is okay.

    1. Of course you can join! This sewalong is for everyone whenever they want to sew up Simplicity 1880, so it really doesn’t matter when you join, you are always welcome!

Leave a Reply

