Sew Grateful Skirt

Sew Grateful Week has been fabulous, hasn’t it! Yay! If you haven’t, jump over to Debi’s blog where she’s consolidated much of the goings on and given you all links to some great sew gratefulness out there.

Ever since I saw Casey’s Ginger skirt version – a great vintage-ish denim number – I knew I had to have one just like it. I’ve been in dire need of a denim skirt. Seriously dire. Especially as my lifestyle now is more laid back and wearing casual clothing is becoming more and more of a necessity. Since I wear my denim shirtdress so much – and this only since the beginning of January – I felt that adding more denim pieces to my wardrobe would be a great idea. Adding this skirt has been no exception.

I didn’t differ too far from Casey’s version. I used her clever pocket tutorial, but left out the buttons and opted to topstitch heavy thread a top the pockets, waistband and hem. Originally, I started out using a plain old denim needle from the stash to topstitch, but soon found that as I really wanted doubled stitching lines and the single needle was making a serious mess of the a double stitching line, I went in search of a twin needle. I had read about twin needles somewhere, and I actually have one and I’ve used it before on my knit top. But twin needles can come in different widths and I wanted one that was wider than the one I had. Got one and used it here on this skirt and Voila! perfectly spaced twin topstitching lines.

I hope you guys have had a seriously good week. My Sew Grateful week has been a fairly good one. I watched a favorite movie last night – Romancing the Stone. I’m such a sucker for Kathleen Turner and even more of a sucker for Michael Douglas. Ha! And I’ve been working on a blouse – another copycat. It’ll be done soon and then I’ll show it off. Thanks to everyone who has already entered the Sew Grateful Giveaway! Your comments have been swell to read and keep bringing a serious smile to my face. If you haven’t entered, you’ve still got a couple more days, so don’t miss out.

Ciao,
Sunni

25 thoughts on “Sew Grateful Skirt

  1. Oh I’ve been itching to make a Ginger skirt but have been indecisive about the fabric. I think you just made my mind up. This is amazing (unsurprisingly)!

  2. I love it! It looks fab on you, and I love the deep pockets.

    I’ve been trying to make more casual pieces too, and also made a denim skirt recently using Sewaholic’s Crescent pattern, so am a big fan of the casual denim skirt.

  3. Gorgeous and well done on the twin lines of top stitching – they really work. I made a denim Ginger skirt in the summer and it may well be my favourite skirt ever – I’ve worn it to death! Hope yours turns out to be as well loved. x

  4. This skirt is so cute! I really love the way you’ve styled it too!

    I’ve been thinking about getting the Ginger pattern for my birthday this month, and I think this has made my decision for me!

  5. Lovely! I wonder how many of us have this skirt after Casey posted the tutorial (I’m guilty too! Although mine is khaki :D) lol. I love that you topstitched the pockets! It makes for a very nice denim skirt without being too jeans-like… you know what I mean, those skirts that look like pants that were turned into a skirt? Yeah, I like the clean A-line much better. Also, you look totally gorgeous in these pictures btw!

  6. very cute! i just finished a denim skirt for my daughter and likewise needed some double rows of topstitching. i had to do it one row at a time though. my machine takes some rare twin needle that i can’t find anywhere!

  7. Gorgeous!!! I’m just so tickled you were inspired my by skirt and tutorial! πŸ™‚ I really love the addition of the topstitching–really makes all the seaming on the Ginger pop. I really need to pull my skirt out and wear it… I wore it a ton after I moved, and needed a bit of a break! But after seeing your cute outfit, I think it needs to come out of hiding in my closet. πŸ˜‰

  8. I love how 70s this looks in denim with the wide topstitching! The mudslide scene!!! My husband makes fun of me to no end for loving that movie, but I can’t help it!

  9. I love denim skirt! I remember being truly in love with Casey’s when she posted it – and this is just as darling. The topstitching really does make it pop – and you are such a clever one for thinking of the twin needle! I never would have thought of that and instead would have just been a sad sack about my uneven topstitching!

  10. I love how many little details this skirt has – it’s one of those ones that looks like a ‘professionally made’ garment at first glance, then when you look a bit closer you see all the little details that make it so simple!

  11. Pingback: Sweetheart Blouse

Leave a Reply

