Sewing Summit Recap!

Friends, it was a good weekend. I told you I was going to the Sewing Summit, and go I did. It was the first time I’ve attended anything of this sort and I was plenty rewarded. To start, this is the first year this event has been held and I think for it’s first year, it really did well. There is room for growth and potential and I’m seriously looking forward to how this convention evolves over the next few years. I really really hope they keep the garment sewing aspect of it going – in fact, I would love to help in that area if I was asked about it (hint, hint). Living right here and having access to something like this is fabulous! So, Amy and Erin, please keep the garment side of things going!!

I helped out in the BurdaStyle classroom for the most part. I did things like cut fabric and such while Gertie taught and showed us her fabulous moves! She was great! And I got to touch and feel a few of her handmade garments, plus chat with her and get to know her a bit. She’s such an amazing girl! Drop dead gorgeous too! She has such a knack for teaching and her classes were specifically tailored to her tastes in sewing, which I loved because it was great to see her in her element and really giving us tried and tested information. She’s such a rockstar. Jealous…

I got to meet several bloggers including Lavender (she’s super sweet & I saw her Rooibos and it’s just lovely!), Sadie (who has amazing glasses and hair), Stephanie (who lives here, Yay! and is so wonderfully nice) and Katie (who’s just gorgeous and is a doctor to boot). Katie wore a handmade belt which she made from a kit from my shop – I nearly fainted with positive delight. It was fabulously done and she looked like a million bucks – which, in kind, made me feel like a million bucks! Thanks Katie!

And there you go! What a great time! Next I’m off to Orlando for the Southern Womens Show – so if you are by chance going too, come by the BurdaStyle Make & Take Lounge and say hello!

xoxo,
Sunni

7 thoughts on “Sewing Summit Recap!

  1. Oh wow, I didn’t even know about this! If they have this conference next year I will definitely find a way to get there. So glad you had such an amazing time!

  2. I had so much fun at the Summit! Gertie really is hilarious and I learned quite a bit. It was so nice to meet you! Have a fun, safe trip and let’s get together when you get back.

  3. It was a fabulous Summit! I can’t wait until next year! I also hope they keep the garment classes and have even more next year. It was so great to meet so many new friends from right here in UT! And I agree- Gertie was great! I got to take 2 of her classes and loved every minute!

  4. It was a total blast! Thanks so much for letting me blab your ear off, and it looks like you’re quite the rockstar, too. Southern Women’s Show? Fancy. I really do hope the garment portion gets fleshed out, but this was a fab first go.

Leave a Reply

