dear readers,

its been a crazy couple of weeks. Please excuse my absence. I keep being thrown some serious curve balls. Like serious curve balls. Not bad either, it just makes my life quite hectic. And nuts. And well, crazy. I still don’t think I’ve recovered from my trip to NYC, which I don’t see why I’m not allowed to say it, but I’ve been selected as a BurdaStyle Ambassador. It’s OK if your jealous, because I am too…. I mean… Anyway, you’ll be seeing me at some upcoming events here and there. First and foremost – The Sewing Summit here in SLC, Utah! Yay! Hey, if you can make it, you should come and we could chat and meet for reals. I’m pretty nice in person and its totally OK if you ask me if I dye my hair (lately, I’ve been asked that like, everyday for weeks – weird). I mean, its a pretty great color for something that I grow myself. Anyway, if you can make it, come on out. Especially if you’re from Utah, because  I’ve decided its time to put some Utah-serious-garment-sewing-enthusiasts on the map here. We need to band together like sisters – not only that but I need friends that sew and don’t look at me like I’m nuts when I tell them I made something I’m wearing.

Oh yeah, then I’ve been sick. Really sick. Whatever is going around, don’t get it. Kind of took the high I got from NYC and just blew the wind right out of my sails. So beltmaking and sewing in general has been kind of sparse. Aiy yai yai. Still haven’t finished that top that I was making for my clovers. Which reminds me that I never did a recap on my clovers either. Which also reminds me that I need a shiny red belt with that outfit too. Oh and I was going to chat about outfit making. See where this is going? I don’t either. But tomorrow, I’ve got another beltmaking post and later this week, we’ll discuss thoughts on sewing outfits. I even have them all typed up and everything, so its not like I’m going to bug out again after saying all this either. You just wait.

How was your weekend? Thinking about coming to the Sewing Summit? Any fresh sewing thoughts? Here’s one: Don’t sew when you’re drunk or have just come from having a root canal. The results are not good. Happy Monday Everyone!

xoxo,
Sunni

23 thoughts on “dear readers,

  1. Congratulations! that’s great news. I am so happy for you. It’s a well-deserved recognition.
    Relax, take one thing at the time and it will be ok. Don’t worry about posts.
    I wish I lived closer to visit you over at the sewing summit…where I live there is no such thing. Is there any sewing summit/fair somewhere in the US between March and May? Planning a trip and would be cool to slot one in

  2. Congrats on your ambassadorship! That sounds fun!!

    I am also attending Sewing Summit (so excited!!) and I’m a local garment sewing enthusiast. I’m a little overwhelmed by all the quilters on the google group, so I’m glad I’m not the only one! Can’t wait to meet you!

  3. I was wondering what happened to you! Sorry to hear you’ve been sick, but I hope you’re feeling back to normal soon. And congrats on being chosen as a BurdaStyle ambassador!

    I’m not attending the Sewing Summit, as I live in Delaware. But I hear ya on wanting local friends that sew….most of my local crafty friends crochet or knit, which is the reason I had to take up yarncraft! Maybe I should just teach a friend or two to sew….

  4. I’m so sorry to hear you are not well, but hopefully on the mend? Huge congrats on being selected as a Burda ambassador – well done! Sadly, I won’t be attending the Sewing Summit… it’s a bit far from Toronto, you know? Have a great time and get well soon!

  5. oooh congratulations on ambassador-ization! that is fantastic news!

    i wish i could travel for sewing-related stuffs. EW. y’all should make it a point to come to nashville. promise you’d love this gorgeous city!

  6. Sounds like at least some of what’s been keeping you so busy is fun! 🙂 Not the sick part, that just stinks. Hope you’re feeling better, and have a moment to breathe soon!

  7. Hello Mrs Ambassador! Or is is Amabassordoress?! Spell check says it isn’t. Wish I could come out and meet you in Utah, but I’m in the UK. Hope you meet some sewing soul mates though. I hope you’re feeling better now and I can’t wait to see what you’ve got to share on the sewing for outfits as I’ve found out that I have major holes in my wardrobe; mostly tops required at the moment. Oh, and I’ve got my first belt kit bits – thrifted as well which is awesome!

  8. Congrats on becoming an Ambassador! I just relocated back to UT and I am so glad you mentioned the Summit! I am now going to plan on going! I can’t wait! I am so a garment sewer and can’t wait to meet others of like mind. 🙂

  9. Congrats on becoming a Burda Ambassador! What a great opportunity. I’ve been sewing/blog-lurking for years and this is such a great community.

    I’m a local sewist! Your comments about Utah made me laugh. My crafty friends either want to sew for their homes or their kids. I’m like, NO ONE wants to make a pretty dress for themselves?? Really??? For help and inspiration I go hang out with Leena at Yellow Bird. That woman is full of creativity. I haven’t even looked at the Sewing Summit site until today. Those classes sound AMAZING. Hmmm, I’ll see what I can do.

    I have a very strict policy on crafting under the influence – don’t do it! That’s just asking for a sewn finger or dropped stitches.

    1. This is so great to know! Oh we should definitely get together over coffee or something and have a Yellow Bird Shopping Spree one day! Yellow Bird is such a great place to hang out! I love it there so much! I always find something, which is not so good for my pocketbook.

Leave a Reply

