Happy 4th of July!

I hope all of you have a wonderful 4th of July – well, those in the US anyway. I don’t know that Independence Day is my favorite holiday (though I still love it), but it brings to mind one of my favorite musicals The Music Man. My sister and I would watch this movie all the time when we were little, most times even more than once per day. Oh Meredith Wilson, how did you create such a wonderful musical? It’s got everything a girl needs – a traveling salesman, a beautiful librarian, a stuffy mayor and his wife, barbershop quartets, dancing, Robert Preston & Shirley Jones, etc…. If you haven’t seen it – EGads! definitely rent it. The newer version is quite good too! Have a happy holiday!

xoxo,

Sunni

5 thoughts on “Happy 4th of July!

  1. Oh my goodness, I didn’t even know about a Matthew Broderick version. I would completely poo-poo a remake but for him. I might have to look it up! Though the original is just so incredibly good. (My 2 y.o. especially loves the train song at the beginning and thinks it’s hilarious to yell “He doesn’t know one note from another!”)

    1. I remember when it first came out – it was made for television – and I just knew it wouldn’t measure up. But crazy enough, it has some pretty charming spots that the original doesn’t. It also includes more music from the original broadway musical and I dare say its quite good and well executed. I still love the 1960s version best, but it’s a very close 2nd. You’ll love it I think!

  2. That’s one of my favourite musicals, too! Here in Portland, they have free movies in the park during the summer. Last summer, they showed “The Music Man” and I was surprised by how many other folks knew all the words to the songs, too. We were ALL singing along. 🙂 Good stuff!

Leave a Reply

