In the Shop – Wrist Pincushions

I’m so so so excited to finally be releasing a new product at A Fashionable Stitch. These have been a long time in the making. In fact, to pinpoint the exact moment was when Patty over at the Snug Bug interviewed me last year and was wondering if I would ever create wrist pincushions. To be honest, I hadn’t really thought about them. Oh the power of suggestion! Ever since that time I’ve been toying with the idea. These were not easy to come up with. These have gone through several revisions, prototypes, stages and everything until I’ve finally been pleased with the result. So let’s take a look, shall we?

Having gone through many samples I found that for wrist pincushions, the simpler the pin pillow the better with bells and whistles added to make wearing easier and more comfortable. To begin with there are two sizes – Small and Large. Small for those with sm-med wrists and large for med-large wrists (though you are welcome to have which ever you like). They have a metal base, which honestly, was the hardest idea to come up with. I found in my pincushion prototype travels that though those wrist pincushions with out a base seem alright at first, after a few wearings the pins sink down into the pincushion and cause discomfort by pricking your wrist. The most fun part is figuring out which pin/pins are causing the discomfort and moving them and really, who wants to do that? So having a base on these was not optional it was necessary! Next comes the wristband. These are real petersham ribbon. I wanted the wristband to be adjustable because I also found that your wrist can shrink or you want to move the pincushion to a different spot on the arm and such and having an adjustable band is much easier than having one that is not adjustable. The wristbands have a D-ring and velcro closure and are made to your size. They come in red and cream for the moment and are quite comfy, if I do say so.

These are also made with stabilized fashion fabrics paired with wool felt. There are a couple cotton cuties thrown in, but for these particular pincushions I found the aesthetic increased tenfold when thinking that they would look good to wear. I can’t take total credit for that. I posted a thought on Facebook a few weeks back asking about wrist pincushions and why they are so good. Laura wondered if I could make some that had a more “elegant presence on the wrist.” I had a few of these ready to go in the shop last week all done up in cute quilting cottons. After staring at them for a time, I kept thinking, this is just all wrong. I was after more of an elegant, feminine (though I plan to make a few manly options for the male stitcher) with a touch of whimsy rather than full blown “cute.” The idea is that the fact that you are wearing one throws them into the category of clothing/accessory. You could say, they are the perfect accessory for a garment seamstress.

Phew!…Now you know what I’ve been slaving away on. What do you think? These would make great gifts too! I’ll be pairing them up with some Ham and Roll sets soon, so keep your eyes peeled. Jump over to the shop and have look!

xoxo,

Sunni

11 thoughts on “In the Shop – Wrist Pincushions

  1. These are adorable & a great idea! My dog chewed my pin cushion up a little so I am in the market for a new one. I’m adding this to my favorites til my next paycheck. (I already maxed out my sewing budget this week, whoops)

  2. How stylish (Shantung silk?) and practical too! I made myself a wrist-pincushion before Christmas with an elasticated band, but it keeps slipping around (grrrr!), but I have some D-rings lurking in my stash so I may just borrow your strap idea and alter mine soon :)!

  3. These are too cute!
    I’m going to have to have one made up that could fit both myself and my hubby (as he helps with my hemming, the poor soul). I’ll have to remember to get his wrist measurements.

  4. Gorgeous! I love the detail of the beads (or french knots?) in the center of the felt bit. One of these is on my list for soon. Nicely done!

  5. I love practical things and beautiful things, and when they are combined like this I’m in heaven. ::swoon::
    I was able to buy the orange one that’s pictured in the post. I can’t wait to use it!

  6. Oh, gorgeous! I love them! It sounds like you’ve put a lot of thought and work into these, and it shows.
    My aunt was making wrist pincushions for a while and used a thick suede backing on them, which also does a good job keeping pins from sticking you in the wrist.

  7. These are so cute! And I like that they’re adjustable–they look like they’d be so much nicer-looking and functional for my tiny wrists than the rather unwieldy Project Runway one I picked up at Joann’s just because I needed one.
    Do you have any plans to make ones that are backed with materials other than wool felt? I have a sensitivity and/or allergy to wool that makes me wonder if wearing one would bother me–it looks like the ribbon, at least, would be between that and my wrist but I’m having trouble telling from the picture.

Leave a Reply

