Serious Business

I’ve been contemplating how to go about announcing that I’ve finally decided to quit my day job and get serious with my small business. There you go. I just said it. It’s a long story. And its been in the works for what seems like years, though it was just last year that I came up with the novel idea of selling my own line of sewing notions and dressmaking supplies.

If you remember from last year, when I wrote the post on The Real Me, I was seriously struggling with juggling my day job, my small Etsy business, keeping my whit here on the blog and even just day to day things like cleaning and cooking, not to mention at the time I was participating in Self Stitched September. I also found that many of you struggle with the same things. It’s kind of drag if I do say so myself. Well, let me say that my day job is a drag, but all of the other things are things and dreams that I actually want to pursue.

So it is now that I’m officially announcing that I will be full-timing the shop, tending my crazy ideas and trying to cultivate more excitement and fun here on the blog and around the web. I’m terribly, terribly excited about it. Oh I’m so excited, sometimes I find the excitement catching in my breath!!!

Ironically, though, ahem….you’ll find the shop in vacation mode at present. Ha ha aha. It’s my last week, this week, as a secretary and I know its rather strange, but I wanted to take a break from all of my extracurricular activities and get in more of a groove for this coming week when I’ll officially begin hitting the shop hard. I know, weird. I’ve got a fun giveaway planned for the small reopening next week. And I have so many more ideas and products, to get going on and show you!

So, now, I’ll be a full-time shop keeper. I hope you’re excited too.

xoxo,

Sunni

52 thoughts on “Serious Business

  1. I look forward to seeing what you come up with! Any chance you’ll invent an invisible zipper that magically inserts itself (in one easy peasy step) on lined pants? šŸ˜‰ Congrats on your new adventure!

  2. That is so exciting!!! My boyfriend surprised me with a set of your pressing ham and seam roll for Christmas last year (quite possibly my favourite presents!) so I’m a big fan and I’ll be looking forward to what else you add to your shop.
    I’ve always dreamed of giving up the day job and having a shop – all the best of luck with it!

  3. i’m in the same situation right now (just a different business – i draw) and it takes a lot of courage and passion to really finally make the desicion to be a freelancer. so congrats and all the best!!!
    thanks to you i’m not afraid of zippers anymore. šŸ˜‰

  4. Congratulations, Sunni! My bright and colorful tomato pincushion (from your shop) is one of my most favorite items in my sewing room. I look forward to seeing (and buying) more lovely creations from you in the future! šŸ™‚

  5. Another inspiration! I am looking forward to the opening of your shop! It feels so great to leave a job that isn’t making you happy to do something that does. I did it two and a half years ago and never looked back. I, too, am planning my next move, and that feels great, as well. Best of luck!

  6. Congratulations! This is so exciting and I couldn’t be happier for you.
    You definitely bring the ‘fun’ in all you do and I can’t wait to see what projects and ideas you have up your sleeve.
    Yay!

  7. Congratulations — what a huge step forward and I know you’ll find your way. Life is too short to spend so much time doing things you don’t like to do unless you absolutely, positively must (and sometimes we must, but not as often as we think). Good luck with it!

  8. Congratulations, Sunni! I can totally relate with your struggle between work/non-work life. This is a great first step in extricating yourself from what doesn’t feed your soul to move toward something that does. SO happy and excited for you! I’ll be cheering you on from the sidelines!

  9. Congratulations! What an exciting step for you. I’m struggling with the same thing – getting home from the day job and going straight to work on other (more fun, but also moneymaking) things, which is exhausting – so it’s a dream I’m looking forward to fulfilling myself someday! Good luck! We’ll be rooting for you.

  10. Congratulations Sunni! I can’t wait to see all that you come up with! Your tailor’s ham has already proven a lovely addition to my sewing room. šŸ™‚

  11. I am so happy for you! congrats and the best of luck! You should be very proud of yourself, very few people have the courage to follow their dreams!

  12. How exciting! I can tell this job situation has been a struggle for you, so I’m glad you have an opportunity to follow your passion. I’m looking forward to seeing how this turns out!

  13. Congratulations! Look forward to new items in the shop! Like others have said, life is too short to spend miserable, or doing something you don’t believe in. Good for you for taking the plunge!!
    From one who’s recently taken similar steps, I’ve never been happier and I know you will be, too!

  14. Congratulations and good luck. Good for you on listening to your heart and taking heed. I worked for years as a secretary and understand how boring and demoralising secretarial work can be!

  15. Good for you! It sounded like this step was so far away for you, and I’m happy you’ve taken it sooner rather than later. You are resourceful and have great taste – and a real love for sewing – and I’m sure you’ll do great things with it. Good luck!

  16. Congratulations! That is so exciting for you! I don’t think I’ve ever commented here before-I’m a terrible lurker haha, but I love your blog! Your tutorials have been a great help to me as a beginner =)

  17. Congratulations! It’s a big step! I really look forward to seeing what you’ll do with this site. It’s one of my favorites! You give me a dose of confidence with sewing clothes when I read through your own sewing experiences and tutorials.

  18. I am so happy for you – I’ve been reading your job frustration, and believe me, I really feel you! I quit my job awhile back to start my own business, and have never been happier. I hope it will be the same for you – best wishes for your success!

  19. Congratulations! You are a very talented sewist and creator; I’m glad you will have more time to devote to what you love doing!

  20. Congratulations! that’s a big decision to take. I am sure you will do very well and you will be glad for having stepped out of your comfort zone. I look forward to your new creations.

Leave a Reply

