When Stars Don’t Align

Most of the time, when my sewing adventures don’t quite work out I don’t usually say anything. And I definitely don’t show you anything. Usually it doesn’t happen that often. I do try to keep a chin up and move on, not get too depressed about ruining an acre of fabric, but this past weekend was different. I was up for making my second, dark colored half slip out of this gorgeous navy blue silk charmeuse I found. And then I thought, “Let’s move onto the full version instead.” I had tested the pattern, because this is silk you know, not cheap and definitely not worth ruining. Surprisingly for a slip, there were quite a few alterations that needed to be made to the pattern. I felt rather impressed with myself that I took such care in testing the pattern actually.

Then, it was time to move onto cutting the blue silk. I made the mistake of cutting out the bra portion first and then turned my attention to the skirt only to find that there wasn’t enough fabric. I had bought the last of the bolt and was rather unhappy with only the yard and a half I got, but I was quite sure I could make the most of it. I determinedly cut out the back portion of the skirt and found that there was absolutely no way to cut out the front. I had purchased this silk from Hancock’s and since we have two locations here, I thought I could get lucky and find some more silk at the other location. Of course, they didn’t have any. Of course.

the very sad pieces of navy silk

So I came home, empty handed, and decided that the half slip version was going to have to work. I proceeded to cut out the back of the slip from the back I had cut for the full slip and again found that there was not enough fabric for the front half, even though this was the half slip. I tried cutting it out anyway, a little off grain, thinking this wouldn’t matter much. Ha ha ha. After cutting out the front and finding that it hung completely wrong, I’m here to tell you, I’ve completely destroyed an entire yard and a half of beautiful silk charmeuse. The loveliest part is that I’ve cut it up into little pieces that couldn’t possibly make their way into anything else garment wise.

It’s a pretty sad story, I must admit. There were no tears, which is surprising, but even worse, there is disappointment. Silly, silly girl. Tricks are definitely for people like Houdini. (I know you thought I was going to say “kids” huh. But I’m not a rabbit so what’s the fun in that?) Possibly even worse than all this, is that I actually “fff-ed up” on something so silly, a slip. A SLIPPPPPPPPPP!!!!!!!!

Believe me when I tell you, all of us have our moments of utter shame and complete ineptitude on a very easy project. So, if you are having one of those moments, I’m here to say, you ain’t alone Sister! I recommend that you bookmark this post for future reference when those moments come along. Just remember, I messed up on a SLIP!

This heart wrenching story has been brought to you by:

  • $16 a yard navy blue silk charmeuse, which had the most beautiful purple tint to it
  • a very easy vintage slip pattern
  • Gingher shears, the likes of which you’ve never seen cut into silk
  • last, but not least, a silly disappointed red-headed girl
18 thoughts on “When Stars Don’t Align

  1. I understand. My life is filled with shame.
    I have a weird solution for you..
    Cut them into small shapes and sell them in your etsy store as silk quilt “squares.” Seriously. People use silk in fancy quilting projects all the time and like various kinds of shapes for that. You can get return on your money for it and buy new fabric for a new slip.

  2. Och, the frustration! at least you have your sense of humor… i think I’m going to print this post and hang it on my bulletin board. I can cry days about suchh a mishap 9okay, but i’m a cryer all right.)

  3. Oh, the growing sense of doom as a project inches towards failure. I feel your pain! At least you have managed to keep your sense of humour and been brave enough to share.

  4. Oh, Sunni, I feel your pain! We’ve all done this… we may not have slipped on a banana skin or wandered out of the ladies with loo roll trailing out of our waistbands, but we’ve all ruined a beautiful piece of fabric (or several) before… think of it as a brief fling with a lovely but otherwise emotionally unavailable piece of fabric, that was never meant to be a long-term thing, but a short and sweet encounter… and thanks for sharing!
    rgx

  5. Sad — but funny — story. At least the experience gave you some great blog material! LOL Surely you can make little flowers out of it or something. Don’t throw that silk out just yet!

  6. Oh nooo! We’ve all had our share of bombed projects. Just put it away (or cut it up into flowers or remnants) and move on. Maybe pull out one of your most successful projects to look at and remind yourself that you’re awesome at sewing, 99.9% of the time 🙂

  7. Oh, I am so sorry about the loss of that beatiful blue fabric. And for your hurt pride! Isn’t a bad sewing project just *the worst*? I recently mentioned that to my husband, and he said that a crappy golf game is likely equally frustrating. I try to tell myself that sewing is a skill/hobby, and that one is going to have off days.
    You know, I appreciate hearing about sewing disasters. (Being a new sewer, I’ve had plenty!) I really think sewers learn from other sewers’ mistakes. I wouldn’t be ashamed to post about them. I think it keep a blog interesting and real, too.

  8. Definitely try to figure out something to repurpose the scraps into–maybe something for a future baby cupcake goddess? I’m sorry that you couldn’t make the slip though, especially when you spent so much on the fabric! 😦

  9. I have felt this way too. Every time I begin to actually cut a project out, I feel so nervous. Cutting seems to usually be the part that is hard to fix if things aren’t quite right. I hate feeling that nervousness. I’m sorry.

  10. Oh no! That is so disappointing.
    I have done a similar thing except I had bought fabric which was just horrible to sew – my overlocker ate it and my sewing machine skipped that many stitches I had no seam and that was after trying about 5 different needles of varying sorts. I just gave up on it!

  11. Ouch, that´s bad. I´ve had my share of ruining beautiful silks in the past, too, mostly by cutting them wrong on the bias. It´s particularly bad when it´s vintage fabric (yes, I´ve ruined vintage silk crepes and satins), because, well, then I´ve destroyed something really unique.
    Hanna

  12. Ah well. My biggest messes have usually involved the most expensive fabric… The silk is lovely, though. Maybe you can make a little evening bag from the scraps?

Leave a Reply

