Stitching Spotlights 6.11.2010

It’s that time of the week again. Isn’t Friday such a glorious day? I have a wedding to attend and take pictures of and I’ve gotten a head start on the glorious Beignet from Colette Patterns. I can’t think of anything better than true love and skirt stitching. Well, except for maybe…..

This DRESS! One look and I was completely in LOVE! Meet Jessica from Green Apples and her stunning Space Age Cocktail Dress. Hop on over to her blog for more pics. I completely agree with her. What happened to all the bygone days of dressing up, in a dress, to go have a cocktail with friends? Next on my sewing list, a cocktail dress. You know what Adele Margolis says about those right? “You need a lot more ease in sportswear than you do in a cocktail dress. After all, how much movement does it take to lift a martini?” ~ How to Make Clothes that Fit and Flatter

Just got some of these too sweet for words buttons in the mail. I don’t know what I’ll make with them, but having them in my possession was absolutely necessary. I do think they would look rather darling on a blouse, or perhaps a flowery pin or maybe adorning a cardigan. As they are made of polymer clay, they are a bit on the soft side. But as they are so sweet, how is there any resisting? Visit TessaAnn for more.

Speaking of Adele Margolis, I just received her Design Your Own Dress Patterns book. I also have this lady’s How to Make Clothes that Fit and Flatter. Both are used and both are indispensible. When I received the Design You Own Dress Patterns book it had been loved by someone previously. There are some brochures from fabric mail ordering companies and a few sweet sketches of future designs stashed away in some of the pages. Doesn’t that just make a book so much more fun to read? I love it when someone has added their special (non-destructive) touch to a book.

Happy Creative Weekend to you!

3 thoughts on “Stitching Spotlights 6.11.2010

  1. Ahhh…..! I have the same book by Adele Margolis! But, the one I have is the new 2006 reprint in paperback of the 1985 edition, which they renamed as http://www.amazon.com/Make-Your-Own-Dress-Patterns/dp/0486452549/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1276283986&sr=1-3 (“Make Your Own Dress Patterns”, ISBN-10: 0486452549 /ISBN-13: 978-0486452548). It’s a really simple & straight forward prowse to read for a novice such as myself – so far I’m up to Chapter 3, page 53… “A pair of shapely dart legs” LOL!

  2. I’m so flattered to be in the spotlight! I’m glad you agree that there need to be more cocktail parties – can’t wait to see your cocktail dress!

Leave a Reply

